For Immediate Release
July 11, 2014
Texas Sales Tax Holiday is Aug. 8 to 10
(AUSTIN) — Texas Comptroller Susan Combs reminds shoppers they can save money on certain items priced under $100 during the state's annual sales tax holiday. This year, the sales tax holiday is scheduled for Friday, Saturday and Sunday, Aug. 8 - 10.
The law exempts most clothing, footwear, school supplies and backpacks priced under $100 from sales tax, which could save shoppers about $8 on every $100 they spend during the weekend.
"Families gearing up for the new school year will not pay any sales tax for many back-to-school items ranging from pens to blue jeans,” Combs said. "When the back-to-school list is long and the money is short, it can be difficult for Texas families. We hope this tax break will help ease that burden."
Lists of apparel and school supplies that may be purchased tax free can be found on the Comptroller's website at www.TexasTaxHoliday.org.
This year, shoppers will save an estimated $82.7 million in state and local sales taxes during the Sales Tax Holiday.
The tax holiday weekend has been an annual event since 1999.
Join the discussion and connect with the Texas Comptroller on Facebook for the latest economic news, surveys and more.
Follow us on Twitter! Get quick Comptroller news and information you need to do business in Texas.