All property has an "abandonment period." This is the amount of time from the last contact with the owner before it is considered abandoned.
|Type of Property||Property Code||Abandonment Period|
|Wages, Payroll or Salary||MS01||1 year|
|Utility Deposits||UT01||1 year|
|Current Production of Ongoing Mineral Interest||MI10||1 year|
|Demutualization Cash||SC85||1 year|
|Demutualization Shares||SC86||1 year|
|Stored Value C ard||MS12||1 to 3 years|
|Safe Deposit Box Contents||SD01||5 years|
|Other Deposit Accounts||AC09||5 years|
|Traveler's Checks||CK08||15 years|
|All Other Property||(See Property Types)||3 years|
Whenever a holder makes contact with the property owner, that is the current last date of contact.
If you hold multiple properties for a single owner, any contact with the owner sets the last date of contact for all their properties.
Contact is defined as:
You can also substitute:
Second-hand contact, mail that is not returned or returned mail - with or without a change of address - are not considered valid forms of contact.
If there is no last date of contact or valid substitute, then report the property as soon as possible.
If the abandonment period is three years, after the third year anniversary of the last date of contact, the property is considered unclaimed/abandoned, and must be delivered to the comptroller before the due date.
Jane is the holder of a property that had reached its three-year anniversary in January of the current year. The property should be reported and remitted to the Comptroller's office between March 1 and July 1, 2015.
When the three-year anniversary occurs after March 1st but before July 1st, the property would be remitted to the Comptroller by the next due date.
Jim is the holder of a property that reached its three-year anniversary in April of the current year. The property is considered abandoned as of April, of the current year but does not have to be reported and sent until July 1 of the following year.
If you do not hold any property abandoned in the past year, you are not required to file a report.
Properties over $250 have a due diligence requirement.
A notice must be mailed no later than May 1 to all owners of property over $250 that will be included in report. The holders may charge the cost of postage as a service charge against each property.
If the holder does not have an address for the owner, or if they have already mailed a letter to the owner, due diligence is not required.
Refer to the resources links on this page for sample due diligence letters.
All holders are required to retain records of unclaimed property for 10 years after the property has been reported.
Learn more about voluntary disclosure agreements.
In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer and Apple Safari.