You can satisfy certain sales tax filing requirements by phone. TeleFile takes the place of filing a paper return for those with no taxable sales to report.
File electronically twice – using TeleFile or WebFile – and we will no longer send you paper returns.
TeleFile is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. If you have difficulty with the system, your call will be transferred to our tax specialist call center, which is available during normal business hours.
At the end of the call, you receive a confirmation number as documentation that you have satisfied filing requirements for the period.
You can file for multiple periods.
Filing type refers to the frequency of filing - whether you file monthly, quarterly or yearly. If you receive a preprinted tax report from our office, your filing type for the current period can be found in "box d".
For a yearly report, enter the two-digit year that represents the year for which you are filing. Enter 16 for 2016.
For a quarterly report, enter a three-digit number. The first two digits are the year; the third digit is the quarter. The quarters are based on a calendar year. For:
If you are filing a report for April through June of 2017, you will enter 172 at the prompt.
For a monthly report, you will enter a four-digit number. The first two digits are the year; the third and fourth digits are the month.
If you are filing a report for August of 2017, you will enter 1708 at the prompt.
Short form filers have one active location and do not report local sales taxes for jurisdictions outside their business location
Long form filers have multiple active locations, or have one location but report local sales tax for multiple jurisdictions.
If you make an error while TeleFiling – like entering your taxpayer number incorrectly – the system will give you two opportunities to correct that error.
On the third attempt, the system will take one of two actions:
On some touch-tone phones, there is a button for you to select the pulse or touch-tone option. TeleFile only works when the touch-tone option is selected.
No. If you successfully complete the call and receive a confirmation number, there is no need to submit a paper report.
Remember, if you file electronically twice, using TeleFile or WebFile, we will no longer send you paper returns.
In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer and Apple Safari.