Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, Glenn Hegar

skip navigation

Transit Sales and Use Tax

Texas has six metropolitan transit authorities (MTAs), two city transit departments (CTDs), one county transit authority (CTA) and one advanced transportation district (ATD) that impose a sales and use tax. These authorities, their appropriate tax rates, and the participating cities and areas in each transit area are shown below.

Austin MTA Sales and Use Tax
Austin MTA 3227999 (Rate 1%) Eff: 07/01/85
Austin Leander San Leanna
Jonestown Manor Volente
Lago Vista Point Venture  
The unincorporated area of southern Williamson County including Anderson Mill, Jollyville, and Pond Springs.
The unincorporated area of Travis County Commissioner Precinct 2 (north and northwest Travis County).

Corpus Christi MTA Sales and Use Tax
Corpus Christi MTA 3178998 (Rate 1/2%) Eff: 01/01/86
Agua Dulce Driscoll Robstown
Bishop Gregory San Patricio
Corpus Christi Port Aransas  
The unincorporated areas of Nueces County.

Dallas MTA Sales and Use Tax
Dallas MTA 3057994 (Rate 1%) Eff: 01/01/84
Addison Garland Plano
Carrollton Glenn Heights Richardson
Cockrell Hill Highland Park Rowlett
Dallas Irving University Park
Farmers Branch    

Denton County CTA Sales and Use Tax
Denton County CTA 3061774 (Rate 1/2%) Eff: 01/01/04
Denton Highland Village Lewisville

El Paso CTD Sales and Use Tax
El Paso CTD 3071889 (Rate 1/2%) Eff: 04/01/88
The City of El Paso only.

Fort Worth MTA Sales and Use Tax
Fort Worth MTA 3220996 (Rate 1/2%) Eff: 04/01/84
Blue Mound Fort Worth Richland Hills

Houston MTA Sales and Use Tax
Houston MTA 3101990 (Rate 1%) Eff: 10/01/78
Bellaire Houston Piney Point Village
Bunker Hill Village Humble Southside Place
El Lago Hunters Creek Village Spring Valley
Hedwig Village Katy Taylor Lake Village
Hilshire Village Missouri City West University Place
The unincorporated areas of southwest and northwest Harris County including Bammel, Cypress, Hockley, Hufsmith, Klein, Satsuma, Westfield, and the portion of Spring within Harris County. The portion of the Woodlands Township in northwest Harris County is not in the Houston MTA.

Laredo CTD Sales and Use Tax
Laredo CTD 3240885 (Rate 1/4%) Eff: 07/01/91
The City of Laredo only.

San Antonio ATD Sales and Use Tax
San Antonio ATD 3015664 (Rate 1/4%) Eff: 04/01/05
The City of San Antonio only.

San Antonio MTA Sales and Use Tax
San Antonio MTA 3015995 (Rate 1/2%) Eff: 01/01/78
Alamo Heights Elmendorf San Antonio
Balcones Heights Kirby Shavano Park
Castle Hills Leon Valley Terrell Hills
China Grove Olmos Park  
Converse Saint Hedwig
The unincorporated areas of Bexar County.

The city of Fair Oaks Ranch withdrew from the San Antonio MTA effective September 30, 2008.
The city of Von Ormy withdrew from the San Antonio MTA effective September 30, 2009.

If you have questions about Local Sales and Use Tax Rate information, please contact us by e-mail at Taxalloc.RevAcct@cpa.texas.gov.

Required Plug-ins

In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Microsoft Internet Explorer, Google Chrome and Apple Safari.