Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, Glenn Hegar

skip navigation

Avoid the Rush, File Early

With WebFile, you can file your return early and postdate the WebEFT payment for a later date by changing the payment effective date.

Due Dates

  • Returns must be filed by 11:59 p.m. Central Time (CT) on the due date to be considered timely. See all due dates.
  • Returns filed after the due date will be assessed a $50 late filing penalty.
  • TEXNET payments must be scheduled before 6 p.m. Central Time (CT) the business banking day before the due date.

Payment Options

Web Electronic Fund Transfer (electronic check)

Web Electronic Fund Transfer (WebEFT) payments require you to provide your bank information and allow you to set a future settlement date.

Payments must be submitted by 11:59 p.m. Central Time (CT) on the due date to be considered timely.

Credit Cards

Credit cards accepted are American Express, Discover and MasterCard (paying by credit card will incur a non-refundable processing fee).

Payments must be submitted by 11:59 p.m. Central Time (CT) on the due date to be considered timely.

TEXNET

Taxpayers who paid $100,000 or more for a specific tax are required to transmit payments using TEXNET.

TEXNET payments must be submitted by 6:00 p.m. Central Time (CT) the banking business day before the due date. Follow the guidelines in the TEXNET payment instructions booklet (96-590) (PDF, 1.4MB).

Get more information on electronic payment options.

Reporting Requirements

Learn more about who must file and pay electronically.

Reporting for More Than 30 Outlets or Tax Jurisdictions

Use Electronic Data Interchange (EDI).

Helpful Links

Required Plug-ins

In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Microsoft Internet Explorer, Google Chrome and Apple Safari.

×