These are challenging times for businesses all over the nation. The Texas Comptroller’s office knows that during periods of economic hardship, paying or remitting taxes and fees on time can feel like an extra burden when there’s so much uncertainty. We’re thankful to those businesses that were able to remit state and local sales taxes they collected from customers in February on the March 20, 2020, due date.
We understand that virtually all of our taxpayers are doing their best to remain in compliance and be responsible in submitting the taxes they collected from their customers. With that in mind, our agency is here to offer assistance to those businesses that are struggling to pay the full amount of sales taxes they collected in February.
For businesses that find themselves in this situation, our agency is offering assistance in the form of short-term payment agreements and, in most instances, waivers of penalties and interest.
We ask that you contact our Enforcement Hotline at 800-252-8880 to learn about your options for remaining in compliance and avoiding interest and late fees on taxes due.
We’re standing by to help Texas businesses during these difficult times.
Due to the challenges created by COVID-19, our audit field offices are temporarily closed. Our staff will continue to fully operate and serve our taxpayers by working remotely. Our auditors have been working remotely to some extent for several years now due to the availability of electronic records. As such, they are accustomed to being able to serve our taxpayers even when they are not present in one of our offices. Our supervisors and managers will still be able to discuss any of your concerns using phone conferencing and WebEx when needed. Audit Headquarters will remain open at this time with a limited number of staff to continue to receive and process refund requests, Statement of Grounds, Certificates of No Tax Due, etc.
We are temporarily suspending the 60-day deadline for businesses to contest audit results. This applies to both redetermination and refund hearings. We will waive interest accrued during this period, and will notify businesses to reestablish a request deadline at a later date. Click here to Request a hearing.
However, if taxpayers are able to request redetermination during the 60-day deadline, our staff can handle these requests. Please email your requests to email@example.com. In addition, for payment options please call Randy Pitts at (800) 531-5441, ext. 3-3963.
For the safety of our customers and staff, we are currently working remotely. We are not anticipating any decline in our service levels and there is no change in the level of security of your account data.
The Comptroller’s office recognizes that many taxpayers face serious hardships because of steps Texans have taken, on their own or at the instruction of state or local governments, to lessen the spread of the coronavirus (COVID-19). To help taxpayers avoid default on existing payment plan agreements, the Comptroller’s office will consider, on a case-by-case basis, postponement on the deadlines to remit payments to the Comptroller’s office.
Postponement will only apply to existing payment plan agreements for periods prior to the February 2020 tax report. The potential postponements will not extend or delay a taxpayer’s due dates for remitting or reporting tax collected on behalf of state and local governments. It will also not apply to resolution agreements that specify a deadline to make a single lump sum payment of the entire liability.
The total amount due under the payment plan agreement will not be reduced. After the expiration of the postponement period, all payment deadlines will resume on the next periodic payment deadline as provided in the payment plan agreement. Postponed payments will be added to the end of the term of the agreement.
To learn more about payment postponement and to determine if you qualify, or to learn more about relief for remittance of tax after the February 2020 report, please contact the Comptroller’s Enforcement Division at 800-252-8880.
Out of an abundance of caution and in compliance with many county and city recommendations, our Taxpayer Services and Collections field offices are temporarily closed.
Here are some other online tools we offer:
The Comptroller’s office recognizes unique situations may arise if certain vendors require payment before the standard 30-day period in response to emergencies or disasters declared by the governor. If an agency chooses to process an early payment, the agency should document the business justification in terms of the emergency or disaster event. See Payment Scheduling for more information.
A state agency may make an advance payment to purchase goods and services in response to a disaster when the governor has declared a disaster. The advance payment must be necessary and serve a proper public purpose. The Comptroller’s office may request additional information to justify any advance payment, including payments made for disaster-related expenses. See Advance Payments for more information.
Contact Expenditure Assistance with questions.
For more information, see Fiscal Management’s Disaster Resources.
Due to the declared state of disaster, we will discontinue holding in-person ARB training at this time. We are working on a viable substitute for in-person ARB training that still meets the legal requirements for completion of the ARB training. We filmed one of the live trainings and are evaluating several virtual training options to deliver that training.
Please be aware that any solution will require ARB training attendees to access the training via the internet. We will provide phone and email assistance to the attendees and the supporting staff. We ask that ARB chairs and ARB coordinators also provide support to their members that may need technical assistance in accessing the training.
To support social distancing, the Property Tax Assistance Division (PTAD) encourages arbitrators to hold all property tax arbitration hearings by telephone, as allowed by Comptroller Rule §9.4261(b). If any party to an arbitration requested an in-person hearing on Form AP-219, the arbitrator should contact both parties and obtain written consent to hold the hearing by telephone.
On March 13, 2020, the Governor declared a state of disaster in all counties. Your appraisal district may be entitled to receive a Limited Scope MAP review if certain criteria are met:
Please contact us to request a limited scope review if you meet the criteria above.
We are extending the deadline for responses the Appraisal District Operations Survey for the 2019 Tax Year until April 30, 2020.
Unless otherwise noted, all responses deal with information from the 2019 tax year. A non-fillable PDF version of the survey is available upon request for use as a working copy only.
The Texas State Operations Center (SOC) has dedicated a vendor enquiry form for vendors/suppliers who may be able to offer products to the state for COVID-19 incident response. When a vendor submits the online form, Texas Department of Emergency Management (TDEM) staff will automatically receive your detailed information for evaluation.
Application information can be found on the HUB pages.
Supporting documents for new HUB applications and recertification may be mailed to:Statewide HUB Program
No in-person appointments or drop-off applications are being accepted at this time.
All in-person classes CTCD/CTCM have been suspended; Limited testing hours are available for the University of Texas-proctored exams for the CTCD/CTCM exams beginning March 23. Additional limited in-person testing times are being scheduled by the SPD training office. CTCD and CTCM renewals are being processed. More information is available at Statewide Procurement Education System.
In response to the spread of COVID-19, the Texas Comptroller’s office has implemented agency-wide teleworking beginning Monday, March 16.
Due to this, our walk-in office is currently closed. ClaimItTexas.org remains online to file claims, submit documentation, request property searches, and file unclaimed property reports. Additionally, our staff is available to answer questions by calling 1-800-321-2274, Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
While our mailroom operations currently remain open, we encourage you to make full use of all our online tools before mailing in documentation. This ensures that our staff members can receive all necessary information in the fastest possible manner.
Due to the decrease in number of bids and overall interest, we are suspending our weekly auction until further notice.
If you experience difficulty when dialing 2-1-1, please email firstname.lastname@example.org.
In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer and Apple Safari.