Due to the challenges created by COVID-19, our audit field offices are temporarily closed. Our staff will continue to fully operate and serve our taxpayers by working remotely. Our auditors have been working remotely to some extent for several years now due to the availability of electronic records. As such, they are accustomed to being able to serve our taxpayers even when they are not present in one of our offices. Our supervisors and managers will still be able to discuss any of your concerns using phone conferencing and WebEx when needed. Audit Headquarters will remain open at this time with a limited number of staff to continue to receive and process refund requests, Statement of Grounds, Certificates of No Tax Due, etc.
Due to COVID-19 challenges, Audit Division informed taxpayers that we were tolling the period to file for a redetermination or refund hearing. The tolled period will be 120 days from the original determination deadline.
Beginning Aug. 1, 2020, Audit Processing will be mailing out updated Texas Notification of Audit Results and updated refund letters notifying taxpayers of their deadline to pay or file for redetermination. These notices are only applicable to audits billed and refund notifications dated as of March 1, 2020, in which a hearing has not been requested.
Taxpayers may email their hearing requests to email@example.com, or they may mail their request or audit payment to Comptroller of Public Accounts, Audit Processing Section, 111 E. 17th Street, Austin, TX 78744-0100.
Out of an abundance of caution and in compliance with many county and city recommendations, our Taxpayer Services and Collections field offices are temporarily closed.
Here are some other online tools we offer:
For the safety of our customers and staff, we are currently working remotely. We are not anticipating any decline in our service levels and there is no change in the level of security of your account data.
The Comptroller’s office recognizes unique situations may arise if certain vendors require payment before the standard 30-day period in response to emergencies or disasters declared by the governor. If an agency chooses to process an early payment, the agency should document the business justification in terms of the emergency or disaster event. See Payment Scheduling for more information.
A state agency may make an advance payment to purchase goods and services in response to a disaster when the governor has declared a disaster. The advance payment must be necessary and serve a proper public purpose. The Comptroller’s office may request additional information to justify any advance payment, including payments made for disaster-related expenses. See Advance Payments for more information.
Contact Expenditure Assistance with questions.
For more information, see Fiscal Management's Disaster Resources.
The Texas Attorney General issued Opinion KP-0299 on April 13, 2019, which has been posted to our 2020 Court Decisions and Attorney General Opinions webpage. The opinion states:
Section 11.35 of the Tax Code creates a temporary tax exemption for qualified property damaged by a disaster, as declared by the Governor. A court would likely conclude that the Legislature intended to limit the temporary tax exemption to apply to property physically harmed as a result of a declared disaster. Thus, purely economic, non-physical damage to property caused by the COVID-19 disaster is not eligible for the temporary tax exemption provided by section 11.35 of the Tax Code.
Please consult with your legal counsel if you have any questions.
To support social distancing, the Property Tax Assistance Division (PTAD) encourages arbitrators to hold all property tax arbitration hearings by telephone, as allowed by Comptroller Rule §9.4261(b). If any party to an arbitration requested an in-person hearing on Form AP-219, the arbitrator should contact both parties and obtain written consent to hold the hearing by telephone.
In light of the ongoing pandemic, we provided a two-week extension on the EARS deadline. Appraisal districts with fewer than 200,000 taxable parcels but more than 10,000 parcels are required to submit certified appraisal rolls by Aug. 15, 2020; the remaining appraisal districts must submit by Sept. 15, 2020.
If you have questions regarding your EARS submission or experience technical difficulties, please contact us by email or call Jesus Rodriguez or Andre Perez at 800-252-9121 (press 1 to access the directory and then press 5-1166 or 3-6786).
Vendors capable of providing critical equipment to the State of Texas for COVID-19 incident response, such as personal protective equipment (PPE), infection control products or other products and services, are invited to submit information through the vendor enquiry form for vendors/suppliers. When a vendor submits the online form, Texas Division of Emergency Management (TDEM) staff will automatically receive your detailed information for evaluation. Submitting product information does not guarantee a purchase order will be issued. TDEM has received thousands of vendor submissions and will only contact vendors if further information is required.
Vendors may register their business on the Centralized Master Bidders List (CMBL) through the Texas Comptroller’s office. CMBL is a state database of vendors that are interested in doing business with the state. Read the CMBL FAQ.
Application information can be found on the HUB pages.
Supporting documents for new HUB applications and recertification may be mailed to:Statewide HUB Program
No in-person appointments or drop-off applications are being accepted at this time.
All in-person classes CTCD/CTCM have been suspended; Limited testing hours are available for the University of Texas-proctored exams for the CTCD/CTCM exams beginning March 23. Additional limited in-person testing times are being scheduled by the SPD training office. CTCD and CTCM renewals are being processed. More information is available at Statewide Procurement Education System.
In response to the spread of COVID-19, the Texas Comptroller's office has implemented agency-wide teleworking beginning Monday, March 16.
Due to this, our walk-in office is currently closed. ClaimItTexas.org remains online to file claims, submit documentation, request property searches, and file unclaimed property reports. Additionally, our staff is available to answer questions by calling 1-800-321-2274, Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
While our mailroom operations currently remain open, we encourage you to make full use of all our online tools before mailing in documentation. This ensures that our staff members can receive all necessary information in the fastest possible manner.
Due to the decrease in number of bids and overall interest, we are suspending our weekly auction until further notice.
In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer and Apple Safari.