

554-Fiscal Year 2021 Semi-Annual HUB Report Supplemental Letter

The Texas Animal Health Commission (TAHC) is dedicated to the utilization of Texascertified Historically Underutilized Businesses (HUBs) in its procurement process by providing contracting opportunities directly and indirectly to HUBs.

The TAHC focused the first six months in FY21 on HUB recruitment by informing vendors of state procurement HUB requirements and how to do business with the TAHC through one-on-one meetings. The TAHC published an agency specific HUB brochure and worked to get a current contract holder HUB certified, which will increase our overall HUB performance.

The TAHC is working to sponsor a HUB Mentor Protégé Agreement between two vendors the agency has established relationships with over the years. This Mentor Protégé relationship will benefit all parties involved while fostering a long-term relationship between a prime contractor and subcontractor pursuant to Title 34 Texas Administrative Code §20.298.

During this FY21 Semi-Annual reporting period, the TAHC HUB outreach included the following:

- Committed over \$170,000.00 via purchase orders to HUB vendors;
- Sought HUB vendors throughout the state and encouraged prime contract vendors to extend opportunities to HUBs;
- Adjusted agency HUB goals for FY21 based on historical trends;
- Participated in monthly statewide HUB Coordinators Discussion Workgroup meetings;
- Participated in virtual Economic Opportunity Forums (EOF) and HUB-related events throughout the state; and
- Followed up with HUB vendors after HUB events to extend bidding opportunities for TAHC's procurement initiatives.

TAHC is strongly committed to the State of Texas HUB Program and will continue efforts to increase the TAHC's HUB participation as it relates to contracting and subcontracting opportunities. If you would like additional information regarding the agency's program, please contact Marita Washington at (512) 719-0762 or Marita.Washington@tahc.texas.gov.

Andy Schwartz D.V.M. Executive Director

COMMISSIONERS

Jim Eggleston Jimmie Ruth Evans Melanie Johnson, Ed.D. Ken Jordan Barret J. Klein Wendee C. Langdon, Ph.D. Joe L. Leathers Thomas E. Oates Joseph G. "Joe" Osterkamp Keith M. Staggs Leo D. Vermedahl, Ph.D. Mike Vickers, D.V.M.