





Insurance Motor Vehicle Crime Prevention Authority Semiannual Fee Report - January through June 2023

a. T Code 7610	10				
c. Taxpayer number		ling period		e.	f. Due date
	g. Taxpayer name and tax report	mailing address		800-252-138 www.compti h. IMF Blac	nation about Insurance Tax, call 37. Details are also available online at roller.texas.gov. PORTANT ken this box if your mailing ess has changed. Show changes 1.
				besi	de the preprinted information.
				i.	J.
NOTE: Insurers ma Who Must File	y recoup this fee from polic	ryholders as auth	norized by 28 TAC,	Section 5.2	05.
groups, interinsurance or reciprocal exchanges, mutual associations, Mexican Casualty Companies or Lloyd's plans that are licensed to write any form of motor vehicle insurance in this state as defined in Article 5.01(e), Insurance Code, during the first six months of the year are required to compute and pay the fee. *For Specific Information for Questions Regarding the Fee* All requests for information, other than form completion, should be referred to the Motor Vehicle Crime Prevention Authority (MVCPA) at AskMVCPA@txdmv.gov or call 512-465-1485.				tor ng Electroi availab Have th	Online Tax Filing nic reporting and payment options are le 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. his form available when you log on. comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/file-pay/
(Instructions cont	· ·	00.			
CALCULATION					
1. Total number of motor vehicle years for policies effective Jan. 1 - May 28					2 3 4 5 6
7. TOTAL AMOU	INT DUE AND PAYABLE (Add Item 3 and	item 6)		······ /. <u> </u>
	*:	* * DO NOT DE1	TACH * * *		
Form 25-106-A (6-23)					
	or Vehicle Crime Prev e Report - January th		•	* 2 5	
	erest (See Instructions.)	•			8. <u>. </u>
9. TOTAL AMOUN	IT DUE AND PAYABLE (It	em 7 plus Item 8	3)		9.■
Taxpayer name	<u> </u>	<u> </u>	k.		Ī.
■ T Code	■ Taxpayer number ■ Period			je and belief.	and all attachments is true and correct
Make the amount in Item 9 payable to STATE COMPTROLLER	Mail to COMPTROLLER OF PUBLI P.O. Box 149356 Austin, TX 78714-9356				Date

Instructions for Computing the Motor Vehicle **Crime Prevention Authority Semiannual Fee**

Effective May 29, 2023, the fee increased from \$4.00 to \$5.00 per motor vehicle year. This will result in a split period for the first half of 2023 "Texas Motor Vehicle Crime Semiannual Fee Report" that is due August 1, 2023.

When to File

Reports and payments are due semiannually:

- March 1 for the last six months of the previous year
- Aug. 1 for the first six months of the current year

An insurer that seeks either a refund of fees or a determination of the sufficiency of their semiannual payment must notify the Authority in writing not later than four years after the date the semiannual payment was made. This includes the amending of a report that would generate a refund. Send refund requests to:

> Motor Vehicle Crime Prevention Authority c/o Texas Department of Motor Vehicles 4000 Jackson Avenue Austin, TX 78731-6007

For Assistance with Form Completion

If you have any questions regarding Insurance Tax, contact us at 800-252-1387 or visit our website at www.comptroller.texas.gov.

General Instructions

- If any preprinted information is not correct, mark out the item and write in the correct information.
- TYPE OR PRINT.

Item 8 - Penalty and Interest

- 1-30 days late: Enter penalty of 5% (.05) of Item 7.
- 31-60 days late: Enter penalty of 10% (.10) of Item 7.
- Over 60 days late: Enter penalty of 10% (.10) of Item 7 plus interest. Calculate interest at the rate published online at www.comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/file-pay/interest.php, or call the Comptroller at 877-447-2834 for the applicable interest rate.

Policies Subject to the Fee

Every form of insurance on any automobile, or other vehicle listed below and its operating equipment or necessitated by reason of the liability imposed by law for damages arising out of the ownership, operation, maintenance or use in this state of the following:

- any automobile
- motorcycle
- motorbicycle
- truck

- tractor
- traction engine
- any self-propelled vehicle
- truck-tractor

- autocycle
- · any vehicle trailer, or semi-trailer pulled or towed by a motor vehicle

The following are **excluded** from consideration for the fee:

- every motor vehicle running only on fixed rails or tracks
- policies providing mechanical breakdown coverage
- garage liability policies
- nonresident policies
- policies providing only non-ownership or hired auto coverages

Calculating Motor Vehicle Years

"Motor vehicle years of insurance" means the total number of years or portions of years during which a motor vehicle is covered by insurance consistent with 43 TAC 57.48. The fee is equal to the number of motor vehicle years of insurance multiplied by \$4 for policies that were issued or renewed between January 1 and May 28, 2023 or \$5 for policies issued or renewed on or after May 29, 2023.

Each insurer, in calculating the fees established by Transportation Code, §1006.153, shall comply with the following guidelines:

- (1) The statutory fee of \$4 is payable on each motor vehicle for which the insurer provides insurance coverage starting January 1, 2023 - May 28, 2023. The statutory fee of \$5 is payable for policies beginning on May 29, 2023 or later regardless of the number of policy renewals;
- (2) When more than one insurer provides coverage for a motor vehicle during the calendar year, each insurer shall pay the statutory fee for that vehicle:

In the calculation of motor vehicle years, the following items should be noted:

- Policy cancellations for any reason have no effect on the fee amount due for the vehicles covered by such policies. Once a policy is delivered, issued for delivery or renewed during each semiannual period, the fee accrues. If a policy is written and later cancelled, the MVCPA fee would be due. A cancellation of an insurance policy for which no insurance coverage was provided results in no MVCPA fee due because there are no motor vehicle years of insurance for that policy.
- Endorsements deleting vehicles are treated in the same manner as a cancellation. If a vehicle is removed from a policy by endorsement, the full MVCPA fee is still due.
- Endorsements adding vehicles accrue "motor vehicle years" in the year of the endorsement.
- · Vehicles substituted on existing policies by endorsement, if substituted concurrently, are subject to an additional fee.
- · Policies delivered, issued for delivery or renewed with an effective period that extends into the next period or year will be counted 100% in the period or year of issue.