
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts Form 
50-288

Lessor’s Rendition or Property Report
Leased Automobiles
CONFIDENTIAL

_____________________________________________________________________ 	 _ ___________________________
Appraisal District’s Name	 Phone (area code and number)

___________________________________________________________________________________________________
Address, City, State, ZIP Code

Are there one or more taxing units located in the county that exempt freeport property under Tax Code Section 11.251? . . . . . . . . . .          	  Yes      No

GENERAL INFORMATION: Pursuant to Tax Code Sections 11.252 and 22.01, this form is used to render motor vehicles leased for personal use that were 
owned or managed and controlled as a fiduciary on Jan. 1 of this year. This report is confidential and not open to public inspection; disclosure is permitted 
pursuant to the terms of Tax Code Section 22.27.

FILING INSTRUCTIONS: This document and all supporting documentation must be filed with the appraisal district office in the county in which the 
property is taxable. Do not file this document with the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. A directory with contact information for appraisal district offices 
may be found on the Comptroller’s website.

DEADLINES: Rendition statements and property report deadlines depend on property type or location. The statements and reports must be delivered 
to the chief appraiser after Jan. 1 and no later than the deadline indicated below. Allowed extensions also vary by property type or location as referenced 
below. 

Rendition Statements and Reports Deadlines Allowed Extension(s)

Property located in an appraisal district in which one or 
more taxing units exempts freeport property under Tax 
Code Section 11.251

April 1 • May 1 upon written request
• additional 15 days for good cause shown

Property generally April 15 • May 15 upon written request
• additional 15 days for good cause shown

Regulated property* April 30 • additional 15 days for good cause shown

*Property regulated by the Public Utility Commission of Texas, the Railroad Commission of Texas, the Federal Surface Transportation Board or the Federal
Energy Regulatory Commission.

INSPECTION OF PROPERTY: Tax Code Section 22.07 authorizes the chief appraiser or a representative to enter the premises of a business, trade or 
profession to inspect the property to determine the existence and market value of tangible personal property used for the production of income and if it has 
taxable situs.

REQUEST FOR STATEMENT REGARDING VALUE: Tax Code Section 22.07 allows the chief appraiser to request (either in writing or by electronic 
means) that the property owner provide a statement containing supporting information indicating how the value rendered was determined. The property 
owner must deliver the statement to the chief appraiser (either in writing or by electronic means) not later than 21 days after the date the chief appraiser’s 
request is received. Failure to comply in a timely manner is considered to be a failure to timely render and penalties will be applied.

PENALTIES: Failure to timely file a required rendition statement or property report will incur a penalty of 10 percent of the total amount of taxes imposed 
on the property for that year. An additional penalty will be incurred of 50 percent of the total amount of taxes imposed on the property for the tax year of 
the statement or report, if a court determines that:

(1) a person filed a false statement or report with the intent to commit fraud or to evade the tax; or
(2) for the purpose of affecting the course or outcome of an inspection, investigation, determination, or other proceeding before the appraisal district, a

person:
• altered, destroyed or concealed any record, document or thing;
• presented to the chief appraiser any altered or fraudulent record, document or thing; or
• otherwise engages in fraudulent conduct.

State the tax year for which this property is being rendered.

__________________________
Tax Year

The Property Tax Assistance Division at the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts provides property tax 
information and resources for taxpayers, local taxing entities, appraisal districts and appraisal review boards.

For more information, visit our website: 
comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/property-tax
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SECTION 1: Property Owner/Lessor Information

___________________________________________________________________________________________________
Property Owner/Lessor Name 

___________________________________________________________________________________________________
Mailing Address, City, State, ZIP Code

_____________________________________ 	 _____________________________________________________________
Phone Number (area code and number)	 Email Address*

Property Owner/Lessor is (check one):

 Individual	  Corporation	  Partnership 	  Trust 	  Association	  Nonprofit Corporation

 Other (specify):______________________________________________  

SECTION 2: Party Filing Report

Indicate the capacity or status of the party filing this report. 

 Property Owner	  Secured Party	

 Employee of Property Owner  	  Fiduciary	

 Authorized Agent	  Other_ _____________________________  

 Employee of Property Owner On Behalf Of Affiliated 
	 Entity of the Property Owner

____________________________________________________________________ 	 _____________________________
Name of party (i.e. business name) filing this report	 Phone (area code and number)

___________________________________________________________________________________________________
Mailing Address, City, State, ZIP Code

NOTE: Pursuant to Tax Code Section 22.26(b), when a corporation is required to file this report, an officer of the corporation or an employee or agent who 
has been designated in writing by the board of directors or by an authorized officer to sign in behalf of the corporation must sign the report.

____________________________________________________________________ 	 _____________________________
Name of individual authorized to sign this report	 Title or Position

_____________________________________ 	 _____________________________________________________________
Phone Number (area code and number)	 Email Address*

Complete if applicable.

	 By checking this box, I affirm that the information contained in the most recent rendition statement filed in  ______________ continues to be 

complete and accurate for the current tax year.	 (Prior tax year)

Complete if applicable.

A secured party filing this report must:
•	 have the property owner’s consent; 
•	 have a security interest on Jan. 1 in the property which has an historical cost when new of over $50,000; and 
•	 meet the filing requirements of Tax Code Section 22.01.

Are all of these requirements met? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                             	  Yes      No

https://comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/property-tax
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SECTION 3: Leased Motor Vehicle Information 

Complete Schedule 1: Leased Motor Vehicle Information for each leased motor vehicle being rendered.  

Complete the table (attach additional sheets as necessary) or a spreadsheet setting forth the required information. All such information must be separately 
identified in a manner that conforms to the column headers used in the table or that is acceptable to the property owner and appraisal district.

SECTION 4: Affirmation and Signature

NOTICE REGARDING PENALTIES FOR MAKING OR FILING A REPORT CONTAINING A FALSE STATEMENT: If you make a false statement on 
this form, you could be found guilty of a Class A misdemeanor or a state jail felony under Section 37.10, Penal Code.

I, _ ______________________________________________________________ , swear or affirm the following:
Printed Name of Authorized Individual

1.	 that the information provided in this report is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief;

2.	 that I am authorized as required by law to file and sign this report; and

3.	 that I have read and understand the Notice Regarding Penalties for Making or Filing a Report Containing a False Statement.

NOTE: If the person filing and signing this report is not the property owner, an employee of the property owner, an employee of a property owner signing 
on behalf of an affiliated entity of the property owner or a secured party as defined by Tax Code Section 22.01, the signature below must be notarized. 

	 _ _______________________________________________		  _________________________________________
Signature of Authorized Individual	 Date

	 Subscribed and sworn before me this __________ day of ____________________ , 20 _______ .

____________________________________________________ Notary Public, State of Texas

*	 An email address of a member of the public could be confidential under Government Code Section 552.137; however, by including the email address on this form, you are 
affirmatively consenting to its release under the Public Information Act.

https://comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/property-tax


Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts Form 
50-288

50-288 • 01-18/6

Page 4	 For more information, visit our website: comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/property-tax

Schedule 1: Leased Motor Vehicle Information
Complete this schedule for each leased motor vehicle being rendered.  

Complete the table (attach additional sheets as necessary) or a spreadsheet setting forth the required information. All such information must be separately identified in a manner that conforms to the column 
headers used in the table or that is acceptable to the property owner and appraisal district.

Lessee 
Name

 

Physical Address 
Vehicle is Kept

(Address, City, State, ZIP Code)

 County 
Vehicle 
is Kept

 
 

Lessee 
Phone 

(area code 
and number)

 

 Lease 
Date

 
Vehicle 

Identification 
Number

 
 

Vehicle 
Model 

Year

 
 Vehicle 

Make
 Vehicle Body 

Style/Type
 Vehicle 

Model
 Vehicle 

Weight
 

Vehicle 
Purchase 

Date

 
 Owner’s 

Value
 

Basis of 
Owner’s Value

Good Faith Estimate 
of Market Value (GF) 

or Historical Cost 
When New (HC)

 Lessee 
Signed 

Affidavit 
on File 

(Y or N)
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