Texas Opioid Abatement Fund Council This public meeting of the Council was hosted on WebEx and in room 1011 of the LBJ State Office Building.

Minutes from the February 15, 2023, Council Meeting

Pursuant to the notice of a public meeting, filed with and posted by the Office of the Secretary of State on February 7, 2023, Comptroller Glenn Hegar called the meeting of the Texas Opioid Abatement Fund Council ("Council") to order at 1:10 p.m., on Wednesday, February 15, 2023.

Members Present:

Comptroller Glenn Hegar
Carrie de Moor, MD
Emmanuel Elueze, MD
Ronald P. "Ronnie" Enriquez, Jr.
Pedro J. Fernandez, M.D.
Robert Guevara, M.D.
Lori K. Holleran Steiker, Ph.D., A.C.S.W.
John G. Mills, D.O.
John "Scott" Milton, M.D.
James Muns, M.D.
J. Douglas Thornton, Pharm.D., Ph.D., B.C.P.S.
Denise Wilkes, M.D., Ph.D.
Katherine L. Yoder, M.B.A.

Members Absent: Sanjay P. Patel, M.D.

The Comptroller noted that a quorum was present for the Council to conduct the business posted in the notice of the meeting.

There being a quorum present, the following business was discussed:

The Comptroller presented the minutes of the October 6, 2022, Council meeting for approval. Dr. Mills moved to adopt the minutes and Dr. Fernandez seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Th Comptroller introduced Betty Torres of the Texas Access to Justice Foundation who provided an overview of their actions and efforts to address the opioid crisis by providing legal services to low-income Texans harmed by the opioid epidemic. Following the presentation, Ms. Torres answered questions from the Council.

Amanda Lopez, Director of the Opioid Abatement Fund Council, presented the fiscal years 2022 and 2023 revenue statements.

The Council discussed the publication of new 34 Texas Administrative Code Chapter 16, Subchapter C (Texas Opioid Abatement Fund Program) as proposed administrative rules to

implement the grant program procedure. Ms. Lopez provided a summary of the proposed rules and a tentative timeline of implementation of the rules.

Following discussion and questions, the Comptroller announced the Council would take a recess at 2:47 p.m. The Comptroller called the meeting back to order at 2:52 p.m.

Dr. Muns moved to submit the proposed rules for publication to the Texas Register for a 30-day comment period in substantially the same form as included in the council meeting materials. Dr. Fernandez seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

The Council discussed the establishment of working groups of the Council with a specific focus.

Dr. Mills moved to create the Code of Ethics Working Group, which would include Dr. Pedro Fernandez, Dr. Denise Wilkes, and Katherine Yoder. Dr. Thornton seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Muns moved to create the Hospital District Formula Working Group, which would include Dr. Carrie de Moor, Dr. Scott Milton, and Katherine Yoder. Dr. Holleran Steiker seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Holleran Steiker moved to create the Peer Review Working Group, which would include Dr. Carrie de Moor, Ron Enriquez, Dr. John Mills, and Dr. Douglas Thornton. Dr. Fernandez seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Mills moved to create the Cycles and Strategies Working Group, which would include Dr. Emmanuel Elueze, Ron Enriquez, Dr. Pedro Fernandez, Dr. Lori Holleran Steiker, Dr. Douglas Thornton, and Dr. Denise Wilkes. Ms. Yoder seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

The Comptroller introduced AJ Inglis, Communication and Community Engagement Specialist with the Opioid Abatement Fund Council, to present a review of the travel reimbursement process.

Ms. Korry Castillo, Associate Deputy Comptroller, began to preside over the meeting.

Ms. Lopez provided an update of implementation and administrative efforts for the Council, including a legislative update of bills staff are monitoring.

Ms. Castillo announced that the next Council meeting is scheduled for early summer of 2023 and would be announced at a later date.

Dr. Muns moved to adjourn the meeting. Dr. de Moor seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. The meeting was adjourned at 3:43 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amanda Lopez

Director, Texas Opioid Abatement Fund Council