Please see the list of approved educational course instructors indicating expiration dates on the Comptroller's website.
Instructor approval is valid for four years at which time reapplication and approval is required to remain an instructor.
Yes. PTAD will verify the courses listed in the renewal application using evaluations received for the instructor during the expiring approval period.
Yes. Educational course sponsors are required to request students complete Form 50-799, Instructor Observation and Evaluation Form (PDF) and return them to PTAD at P.O. Box 13528, Austin, Texas 78711-3528. In the absence of a sponsor, the instructor is responsible for returning the forms.
It is up to the instructor to ensure Form 50-799, Instructor Observation and Evaluation Form (PDF) is completed and returned to PTAD at P.O. Box 13528, Austin, Texas 78711-3528 to maintain their record of instruction.
Evaluations will be reviewed for the four-year approval period.
No. Instructor approval is based on topic. Please see the list of approved educational course instructors indicating topics allowed for each approved instructor on the Comptroller's website.
The course may not be valid for certification or CE credit.
Approved instructors adding a topic to their approval list do not have to meet the instructor training course requirement or the 25 percent co-teaching requirement. However, if the course has not been taken in the last five years, the course must be taken and the exam passed.
No. Only a person with a Doctor of Jurisprudence may teach a property tax law course. A person who has attained a Doctor of Jurisprudence and has five years of experience in property tax law and currently is involved in the practice or administration of property tax law is exempt from the trainee instructor requirements.
Instructor evaluations are not required for the USPAP refresher because it is a continuing education program. Instructor evaluations are required for 15-hour USPAP course used for certification.
An additional approved topic will be added to the list, but be given the same expiration date as other approved topics. This allows for one common renewal date for an instructor to submit reapplication.
No. The course orientation is provided to the instructor by the course developer as a tool to familiarize the instructor with the materials. It refers to a course on the topic to be submitted for instructor approval.
At this time, the Comptroller's office does not offer an instructor training course. There is no specific course designated to meet this requirement and the applicant may take an instructor course of his or her choice.
No. The course must be taken and the exam passed before co-teaching the course.
No. Due to availability and timing of courses and instructor training programs, PTAD allows these requirements to be completed in any order.
Approved instructors are required to attain the CE credits required by TDLR and eight (8) hours of instructor professional development and an orientation or update of the course to be taught every four years.
An instructor who no longer has a professional designation must reapply and continue to obtain the CE training required by someone actively holding the designation. Please see Comptroller of Public Accounts, Property Tax Assistance Division, Instructor Approval Procedures for more information.
In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer and Apple Safari.