The Comptroller's office publishes this online newsletter to keep you informed about Texas taxes and what is happening in the Tax Policy Division. Tax Policy News provides general information and is not a substitute for legal or other professional advice.
On July 16 at 2 p.m., the Tax Policy Division will host a sales tax roundtable discussion about the sale of food, soft drinks and candy through vending machines on school campuses.
Registration information is online.
To keep attendance at a level that provides a fruitful discussion, we will limit attendance to a maximum of 25 participants. We will notify selected participants by email.
Licensed insurance companies, licensed captive insurers and miscellaneous organizations with a net tax liability for the previous calendar year in excess of $1,000 must prepay premium tax semi-annually.
The second semi-annual prepayment must be made on or before Aug. 1.
The first semi-annual prepayment should have been made on or before March 1, 2014, or at the same time that the annual statement was required to be filed. Since March 1was a Saturday, the next business day, March 3, 2014, became the due date.
For more information concerning prepayments, see Form 25-101.
This year's annual sales tax holiday begins at 12:01 a.m. on Friday, August 8 and ends at midnight on Sunday, August 10. During this three-day period, Texas shoppers get a break from state and local sales taxes on purchases of school supplies, clothing and most backpacks priced under $100.
Members of the Tax Policy Division often receive requests to discuss taxability issues with interested organizations.
Members of the Sales and Motor Vehicle Taxes section recently presented information about Motor Vehicle Sales and Use Tax at the Tax Assessor-Collectors Association Annual Conference in Fort Worth.
The Comptroller updated the International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) Report (Form 56-101) and IFTA Fuel Tax Report Supplement (Form 56-102) beginning with the second quarter reporting period. These forms are filed by IFTA licensed commercial carriers that travel interstate.
The Comptroller updated the Retail Credit Fee Report (Form 01-139), which is filed by a retail seller that assesses a delinquency fee of greater than $10 on a retail charge payment that is in default longer than 21 days.
The law requires 50 cents of each delinquency fee greater than $10 to be remitted to the Comptroller to finance research, educational and counseling services provided by the Texas Finance Commission.
The Comptroller has created a new Garage Sales and Texas Sales Tax publication to clarify when sales tax is due on personal items sold at garage sales and similar sales. It defines "occasional" sales when tax is not due, and explains when a seller must have a sales permit and collect tax. The publication also covers tax responsibilities for group sales and for artists and other crafts sellers.
The Comptroller updated the Automotive Oil Sales Fee Web page to provide more information about uses of the fee and used oil collection centers.
The Comptroller created a new Web page on Security Requirements for Mixed Beverage Permittees and updated the Mixed Beverage Gross Receipts Tax and Mixed Beverage Sales Tax Web pages to include a link to that page.
The Comptroller updated the Motor Fuels Tax Refunds Web page to provide more information to consumers requesting a refund of taxes paid on gasoline, diesel fuel, compressed natural gas or liquefied natural gas.
Amendments to the following rule will be proposed for public comment through the Texas Register on July 4, 2014. The comment period ends 30 days after publication.
Rule 3.68 – United States and Foreign Military Personnel Stationed in Texas
Information about proposed rules is available from the Texas Secretary of State's website.
The following rule adoption was filed with the Secretary of State on June 25, 2014. The effective date is July 15, 2014, 20 days after filing.
Rule 3.338 – Multistate Tax Credits and Allowance of Credit for Tax Paid to Suppliers
In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer and Apple Safari.