The Comptroller's office publishes this online newsletter to keep you informed about Texas taxes and what is happening in the Tax Policy Division. Tax Policy News provides general information and is not a substitute for legal or other professional advice.
The Tax Policy Division will host a sales tax roundtable discussion on the sale of food, soft drinks and candy through vending machines on school campuses. The division will post registration information online as soon as the date has been set.
This year's annual sales tax holiday begins at 12:01 a.m. on Friday, August 8 and ends at midnight on Sunday, August 10. During this three-day period, Texas shoppers get a break from state and local sales taxes on purchases of school supplies, clothing and most backpacks priced under $100.
Members of the Tax Policy Division often receive requests to discuss taxability issues with various interested organizations.
Recent events include these presentations:
The Comptroller revised the Texas Hotel Occupancy Tax Exemption Certificate (Form 12-302) to clarify hotel tax exemptions between state and local taxing authorities and permanent residents.
The Comptroller created a new Web page to explain the new law that allows taxable entities engaged in qualified research (as defined by Internal Revenue Code, Section 41) to claim either a franchise tax credit based on qualified research expenses or a sales and use tax exemption on the purchase, lease, rental, storage or use of depreciable tangible personal property directly used in qualified research.
Amendments to the following rules will be proposed for public comment through the Texas Register on May 30, 2014. The comment period ends 30 days after publication.
Rule 3.334 – Local Sales and Use Taxes
Rule 3.345 – Annual Refund Program for Providers of Cable Television, Internet Access, or Telecommunications Services
Information about proposed rules is available from the Texas Secretary of State's website.
A withdrawal notice for the proposed amendment to Rule 3.430, Records Required; Information Required, will be proposed in the May 30, 2014, issue of the Texas Register. The original proposal was published in the March 14, 2014, issue of the Texas Register.