taxes

Tax Policy News

January 2015

The Comptroller's office publishes this online newsletter to keep you informed about Texas taxes and what is happening in the Tax Policy Division. Tax Policy News provides general information and is not a substitute for legal or other professional advice.

In This Issue...

Franchise Tax

Historic Structure Credit – New Web Page

The Comptroller created a new Web page explaining the franchise tax historic structure credit. Texas law provides a franchise tax credit for up to 25 percent of eligible costs and expenses incurred in the rehabilitation of a certified historic structure.

Mixed Beverage Taxes

Other News

Interest Rates for 2015

Delinquent taxes accrue interest beginning on the 61st day after the due date until paid. For 2015, the interest rate on taxes owed is 4.25 percent. Refund claims filed with the Comptroller's office accrue credit interest at either Treasury Pool rate or Prime +1, whichever is less. The interest begins to accrue 60 days after the date of the payment or the due date of the tax report, whichever is later.

For more information about how the interest rate is applied (as well as the interest rates for this year and previous years), see Interest on Credits and Refunds and on Tax Due.

Rules

Proposed Rules

Information about proposed rules is available from the Texas Secretary of State.

General Rules

The Comptroller proposed the following new rule for public comment on Dec. 19, 2014. The comment period ended Jan.18.

Rule 3.9 - Electronic Filing of Returns and Reports; Electronic Transfer of Certain Payments by Certain Taxpayers

The Comptroller proposed amendments to the following rule for public comment on Jan. 2, 2015. The comment period ends Feb. 14.

Rule 3.13 - Postmarks, Timely Filing of Reports, and Timely Payment of Taxes and Fees

Mixed Beverage Taxes

The Comptroller proposed amendments to the following rule for public comment on Dec. 19, 2014. The comment period ended Jan. 19.

Rule 3.1001 - Mixed Beverage Gross Receipts Tax

The Comptroller proposed the following new rule for public comment on Dec. 19, 2014. The comment period ended Jan. 19.

Rule 3.1002 - Mixed Beverage Sales Tax

Adopted Rules

The Comptroller filed the following rules for adoption with the Secretary of State on Nov. 18, 2014. The effective date was Jan. 1, 2015.

County Sales and Use Tax

Rule 3.251 REPEAL - Adopting or Abolishing County Tax

Rule 3.252 REPEAL - Collection and Allocation of County Tax

Rule 3.253 REPEAL - County Use Tax

Municipal Sales and Use Tax

Rule 3.371 REPEAL – Effect of Rules; Permits and Certificates; Exclusion of Certain Sales

Rule 3.372 REPEAL – Adopting, Increasing, Decreasing, or Abolishing City Tax

Rule 3.373 REPEAL – Change or Alteration of City Boundaries

Rule 3.374 REPEAL – Collection and Allocation of the City Sales Tax

Rule 3.375 REPEAL – City Use Tax

Rule 3.376 REPEAL – Prior Contract Exemptions

Rule 3.377 REPEAL – Divergent Use of a Direct Payment, Resale or Exemption Certificate

Rule 3.378 REPEAL – Natural Gas and Electricity

Rule 3.379 REPEAL – Contractors

Transit Sales and Use Tax

Rule 3.421 REPEAL – Effect of Rules; Permits and Certificates; Exclusion of Certain Sales of Qualified Retailers

Rule 3.422 REPEAL – Adopting, Increasing, Decreasing, or Abolishing Transit (MTA) Tax

Rule 3.423 REPEAL – Change or Alteration of Authority Boundaries; Withdrawal from Authority; Notification Required

Rule 3.424 REPEAL – Collection and Allocation of Transit Sales Tax

Rule 3.425 REPEAL – Transit Use Tax

Rule 3.426 REPEAL – Prior Contract Exemptions

Rule 3.427 REPEAL – Divergent Use of a Direct Payment, Resale, or Exemption Certificate

Rule 3.428 REPEAL – Natural Gas and Electricity

Rule 3.429 REPEAL – Contractors

Effective Rules

State and Local Sales and Use Taxes

The following rule became effective Nov. 10, 2014:

Rule 3.335 – Property Used in a Qualifying Data Center; Temporary State Sales Tax Exemption

Motor Fuel Tax

The following rules became effective Nov. 19, 2014:

Rule 3.432 – Refunds on Gasoline, Diesel Fuel, Compressed Natural Gas, and Liquefied Natural Gas Taxes

Rule 3.448 – Transportation Services for Texas Public School Districts

State and Local Sales and Use Taxes

The following rule became effective Jan. 1, 2015:

Rule 3.334 – Local Sales and Use Taxes