
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts Form 
50-120

Application for Cemetery Property Tax Exemption
____________________________________________________________________ 	 ______________________________
Appraisal District’s Name	 Phone (area code and number)

_______________________________________________ 	 ____________________	 ________________ 	 _____________
Address	 City		  State	 Zip Code

 
GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS: This application is for use in claiming a property tax exemption on property that you own and that is used exclusively for 
human burial pursuant to Tax Code Section 11.17. This application applies to property you owned on Jan. 1 of this year or acquired during this year. 

FILING INSTRUCTIONS: You must furnish all information and documentation required by this application so that the chief appraiser is able to determine 
whether the statutory qualifications for the exemption have been met. This document and all supporting documentation must be filed with the appraisal 
district office in each county in which the property is located. Do not file this document with the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. A directory with 
contact information for appraisal district offices may be found on the Comptroller’s website.

APPLICATION DEADLINES: You must file the completed application with all required documentation beginning Jan. 1 and no later than April 30 of the 
year for which you are requesting an exemption. If you acquired the property after Jan. 1 of this year and wish to qualify for the exemption this year, you 
must apply before the first anniversary of the date you acquired the property, or before the first anniversary of the date any property was acquired after Jan. 1.

DUTY TO NOTIFY: If the chief appraiser grants the exemption, you do not need to reapply annually unless the chief appraiser requires it or you want the 
exemption to apply to property not listed in this application. You must notify the chief appraiser in writing if and when your qualification for this exemption ends. 

OTHER IMPORTANT INFORMATION

Pursuant to Tax Code Section 11.45, after considering this application and all relevant information, the chief appraiser may request additional information 
from you. You must provide the additional information within 30 days of the request or the application is denied. For good cause shown, the chief appraiser 
may extend the deadline for furnishing the additional information by written order for a single period not to exceed 15 days.

State the tax year for which you are applying.

___________________
Tax Year

STEP 1: Ownership Information

____________________________________________________________________ 	 ______________________________
Name of Property Owner	 Phone (area code and number)

_______________________________________________ 	 ____________________	 ________________ 	 _____________
Mailing Address	 City		  State	 Zip Code

Property Owner is a(n) (check one):

 Individual        Partnership        Corporation        Other (specify): _ ___________________________________________ 

STEP 2: Applicant Information

________________________________________ 	 _ __________________________ 	 _ ___________________________
Name of Person Preparing this Application	 Title	 Driver’s License, Personal I.D. Certificate 
		  or Social Security Number*

If this application is for property owned by a charitable organization with a federal tax identification number,  
that number may be provided in lieu of a driver’s license number, personal identification certificate  
number or social security number:  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                            	 ____________________________

*	 Pursuant to Tax Code Section 11.48(a), a driver’s license, personal I.D. certificate, or social security number provided in an application for an exemption filed with a chief 
appraiser is confidential and not open to public inspection. The information may not be disclosed to anyone other than an employee of the appraisal office who appraises 
property, except as authorized by Tax Code Section 11.48(b).

The Property Tax Assistance Division at the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts provides property tax 
information and resources for taxpayers, local taxing entities, appraisal districts and appraisal review boards.

For more information, visit our website: 
comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/property-tax
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STEP 3: Property Information

_______________________________________________ 	 ____________________	 ________________ 	 _____________
Mailing Address	 City		  State	 Zip Code

____________________________________________________________________ 	 ______________________________
Legal Description (if known)	 Appraisal District Account Number (if known)

Is the property used exclusively for human burial? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                 	  Yes      No

Is the property being held for profit? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                            	  Yes      No

STEP 4: Certification and Signature
By signing this application, you certify that the information provided in this application is true and correct to the best of your knowledge and belief.

_ _____________________________________________________ 	 _____________________________________
Print Name	 Title

_ _____________________________________________________ 	 _____________________________________
Authorized Signature	 Date

If you make a false statement on this application, you could be found guilty of a Class A misdemeanor or a state jail felony under Penal Code 
Section 37.10.

https://comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/property-tax
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