License holders engaging in the business of manufacturing, owning, buying, selling, renting, leasing, trading, repairing, maintaining, servicing, transporting, exhibiting or storing coin-operated amusement machines in Texas need a Comptroller-issued general business license. When paid by the due date, the annual fee for a license is $200, $400 or $500, depending on the number of machines owned.
Organizations operating exclusively for charitable, educational, religious or benevolent purposes are exempt from licensing, registration and the occupation tax. An organization with social or fraternal activities does not qualify for exemption. Machines designed exclusively for children under 12 years of age are also exempt. An individual owning and operating a coin-operated amusement machine in his/her private residence exclusively for his/her personal use is exempt from licensing, registration and the occupation tax.
A registration certificate is needed by a person who:
When paid by the due date, the annual fee is $150.
The $60 occupation tax is due annually on each coin-operated amusement machine that is displayed in Texas. An occupation tax permit (decal) affixed to each machine shows that the tax has been paid. The tax can be prorated quarterly for machines placed in service for the first time in Texas during the year
All renewals are due November 30 of each year.
You can request applications for occupation tax permits for additional machines displayed during the year can be requested
For additional permits, Form AP-141, Texas Application for Additional Coin-Operated Machine Tax Permits (PDF), and payment of the tax due must be submitted together.
No more than 50 percent of the gross receipts from a coin-operated amusement machine can be contracted to a bailee or lessee by the license holder.
License applicants must be 18 or older.
For additional information, read the Comptroller's publication, Coin-Operated Amusement Machine Regulation and Taxation (PDF), or call one of our tax specialists at 1-800-531-5441, ext. 33731.
In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer and Apple Safari.