purchasing

Historically Underutilized Business (HUB) Program

State agencies and universities are constantly looking to work with businesses certified as Historically Underutilized Business (HUB). The goal of this good-faith effort is to actively involve HUBs in the Texas procurement process and ensure they receive a fair share of state business.

View a list of HUB status codes and ethnicity codes.

Who qualifies to be a Historically Underutilized Business?
  • a for-profit entity that has not exceeded the size standard prescribed by 34 TAC §20.294, and has its principal place of business in Texas, and
  • is at least 51 percent owned by an Asian Pacific American, Black American, Hispanic American, Native American, American woman and/or Service Disabled Veteran, who reside in Texas and actively participate in the control, operations and management of the entity’s affairs.
What are the benefits of HUB Certification?
  • HUB certification is free of charge and good for up to four years, provided that the business continues to meet the eligibility requirements.*
  • Only certified HUBs are listed in the online Texas HUB Directory. State agencies use the HUB Directory in conjunction with the Comptroller’s Centralized Master Bidders List (CMBL) to solicit bids from certified HUBs for state purchasing and public works contracts. Prime contractors also use the HUB Directory to identify HUBs to whom they will send notification of their subcontracting opportunities.
  • For purchases of $5,000 or less, state entities can directly contact a business to buy goods and services.
  • The Texas HUB Directory is also searched by vendors looking for certified HUBs to include in their subcontracting plans for projects of $100,000 or more.
  • Increased exposure to the general public as well as other entities that have a supplier diversity program, and are searching for minority-owned, woman-owned and service disabled veteran-owned businesses.

*Vendors may also receive HUB certification by way of a certification memorandum of agreement the Statewide HUB Program has entered into with other local governments or nonprofit organizations. View more about HUB Certification Agreements

How do I sign up?

IMPORTANT: It is vital to be truthful in all documents provided for HUB certification. It is a state jail felony under Texas Penal Code §37.10 to knowingly provide false information in an application for HUB certification. It is a third degree felony under Texas Government Code §2161.231 to apply for a state contract as a HUB vendor knowing you are not actually a HUB.

If the felony conduct prohibited under Texas Government Code §2161.231 results in the awarding of a state contract, then the act of knowingly acquiring funds derived from that felony conduct may be prosecuted under Texas Penal Code §34.02. An offense under this section is punishable as a felony regardless of the amount of funds derived from the illegal conduct. First degree felony punishment applicable if the value of the funds is $200,000 or more.

  • A first degree felony is punishable by 5-99 years or life in prison, and a fine up to $10,000.
  • A third degree felony is punishable by 2-10 years in prison, and a fine up to $10,000.
  • A state jail felony is punishable by 180 days to 2 years in the state jail, and a fine up to $10,000.