about

State of Texas Holiday Schedule - Fiscal 2018

Holiday Agency Status Date Day of Week
Labor Day Office Closed 09-04-17 Monday
Rosh Hashanah Optional Holiday 09-21-17 Thursday
Rosh Hashanah Optional Holiday 09-22-17 Friday
Yom Kippur 09-30-17 Saturday
Veterans Day 11-11-17 Saturday
Thanksgiving Day Office Closed 11-23-17 Thursday
Day After Thanksgiving Office Closed 11-24-17 Friday
Christmas Eve Day 12-24-17 Sunday
Christmas Day Office Closed 12-25-17 Monday
Day After Christmas Office Closed 12-26-17 Tuesday
New Year's Day Office Closed 01-01-18 Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Office Closed 01-15-18 Monday
Confederate Heroes' Day Skeleton Crew Required 01-19-18 Friday
Presidents' Day Office Closed 02-19-18 Monday
Texas Independence Day Skeleton Crew Required 03-02-18 Friday
Good Friday Optional Holiday 03-30-18 Friday
Cesar Chavez Day 03-31-18 Saturday
San Jacinto Day 04-21-18 Saturday
Memorial Day Office Closed 05-28-18 Monday
Emancipation Day Skeleton Crew Required 06-19-18 Tuesday
Independence Day Office Closed 07-04-18 Wednesday
LBJ's Birthday Skeleton Crew Required 08-27-18 Monday
Weekend Holidays
Offices will not be closed on another day when designated holidays fall on a Saturday or Sunday. Such holidays will not be observed.
Skeleton Crew Holidays
A state agency must have enough state employees on duty to conduct business during the skeleton crew holidays listed. Compensatory time off during the 12-month period following the holiday worked will be allowed for this duty.
Optional Holidays
A state employee is entitled to observe Rosh Hashanah, Yom Kippur, Good Friday, and Cesar Chavez Day in lieu of any state holiday where a skeleton crew is required.