about

Comptroller's Office Holiday Schedule - Fiscal 2017

Holiday Agency Status Date Day of Week
Labor Day Office Closed 09-05-16 Monday
Rosh Hashanah Optional Holiday 10-03-16 Monday
Rosh Hashanah Optional Holiday 10-04-16 Tuesday
Yom Kippur Optional Holiday 10-12-16 Wednesday
Veterans Day Office Closed 11-11-16 Friday
Day Before Thanksgiving Office Closed 11-23-16 Wednesday
Thanksgiving Day Office Closed 11-24-16 Thursday
Day After Thanksgiving Office Closed 11-25-16 Friday
Day Before Christmas Eve Office Closed 12-23-16 Friday
Christmas Eve Day 12-24-16 Saturday
Christmas Day 12-25-16 Sunday
Day After Christmas Office Closed 12-26-16 Monday
New Year's Day 01-01-17 Sunday
Day After New Year's Day Office Closed 01-02-17 Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Office Closed 01-16-17 Monday
Confederate Heroes' Day Skeleton Crew Required 01-19-17 Thursday
Presidents' Day Office Closed 02-20-17 Monday
Texas Independence Day Skeleton Crew Required 03-02-17 Thursday
Cesar Chavez Day Optional Holiday 03-31-17 Friday
Good Friday Optional Holiday 04-14-17 Friday
San Jacinto Day Skeleton Crew Required 04-21-17 Friday
Memorial Day Office Closed 05-29-17 Monday
Emancipation Day Skeleton Crew Required 06-19-17 Monday
Independence Day Office Closed 07-04-17 Tuesday
LBJ's Birthday 08-27-17 Sunday
Weekend Holidays
Offices will not be closed on another day when designated holidays fall on a Saturday or Sunday. Such holidays will not be observed.
Skeleton Crew Holidays
A state agency must have enough state employees on duty to conduct business during the skeleton crew holidays listed. Compensatory time off during the 12-month period following the holiday worked will be allowed for this duty.
Optional Holidays
A state employee is entitled to observe Rosh Hashanah, Yom Kippur, Good Friday, and Cesar Chavez Day in lieu of any state holiday where a skeleton crew is required.