about

State of Texas Holiday Schedule - Fiscal 2019

Holiday Agency Status Date Day of Week
Labor Day Office Closed 09-03-18 Monday
Rosh Hashanah Optional Holiday 09-10-18 Monday
Rosh Hashanah Optional Holiday 09-11-18 Tuesday
Yom Kippur Optional Holiday 09-19-18 Wednesday
Veterans Day 11-11-18 Sunday
Thanksgiving Day Office Closed 11-22-18 Thursday
Day After Thanksgiving Office Closed 11-23-18 Friday
Christmas Eve Day Office Closed 12-24-18 Monday
Christmas Day Office Closed 12-25-18 Tuesday
Day After Christmas Office Closed 12-26-18 Wednesday
New Year's Day Office Closed 01-01-19 Tuesday
Confederate Heroes' Day 01-19-19 Saturday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Office Closed 01-21-19 Monday
Presidents' Day Office Closed 02-18-19 Monday
Texas Independence Day 03-02-19 Saturday
Cesar Chavez Day 03-31-19 Sunday
Good Friday Optional Holiday 04-19-19 Friday
San Jacinto Day 04-21-19 Sunday
Memorial Day Office Closed 05-27-19 Monday
Emancipation Day Skeleton Crew Required 06-19-19 Wednesday
Independence Day Office Closed 07-04-19 Thursday
LBJ's Birthday Skeleton Crew Required 08-27-19 Tuesday
Weekend Holidays
Offices will not be closed on another day when designated holidays fall on a Saturday or Sunday. Such holidays will not be observed.
Skeleton Crew Holidays
A state agency must have enough state employees on duty to conduct business during the skeleton crew holidays listed. Compensatory time off during the 12-month period following the holiday worked will be allowed for this duty.
Optional Holidays
A state employee is entitled to observe Rosh Hashanah, Yom Kippur, Good Friday, and Cesar Chavez Day in lieu of any state holiday where a skeleton crew is required.