The Comptroller’s office announces new live and on-demand training sessions about current popular tax topics. We invite taxpayers and practitioners to participate in quarterly webinars and podcasts that provide in-depth information on tax topics that affect your business today.
Our goal is to provide you with fast and convenient information for your business. Please take a moment to complete our survey.
Continuing education credit is not available for the seminars, webinars or podcasts at this time.
The Texas Comptroller’s office offers sales and use tax seminars across the state throughout the year. New taxpayers are especially encouraged to attend these overviews of tax responsibilities for buyers, sellers and service providers. For locations, dates and times, visit the Taxpayer Seminars webpage.
Do you need help understanding tax responsibilities and would like to learn from the convenience of your home or office? The Comptroller Taxpayer Webinars provide guidance on various common tax questions in a virtual environment. We will add new webinars throughout the year so check back for additional opportunities.
Note: Internet Explorer or FireFox browsers offer the best services for viewing the webinar videos. Other browsers may encounter issues with the webinar’s interactive features.
Starting a New Business in Texas
Thursday, Feb. 21, 2019
Are you starting a new business? This one-hour webinar highlights the tax responsibilities of doing business in Texas and provides steps for the registration process along with how to collect and report tax.
This webinar is available at these times. Register now for the one that fits your schedule.
Download all of our podcast episodes to learn more about our office, popular tax topics and other helpful information on the go. Each episode runs between 10 and 15 minutes to fit within your busy schedule. We will add new episodes throughout the year so check back often for new information.
This episode highlights the sales tax return form and what to include when reporting your total sales, taxable sales and taxable purchases.
As the seller, did you include sales tax in the sales price you billed your customer? If so, make sure to “back out” the sales tax before reporting on your sales tax return.
To “back out” the sales tax, follow this formula:
Sales price (tax included) divided by (1.0 plus your applicable tax rate) equals the taxable amount.
For example, your total sales (tax included) are $1,000 and your tax rate is 8.25 percent (0.0825). The formula is $1,000 divided by 1.0825 (1.0 plus 0.0825), which equals $923.78. Remember to round to the nearest dollar on your sales tax return, $924.
Do you need help understanding your tax responsibilities? Our Taxpayer Videos provide answers to various common tax questions. We will add new videos so check back for additional opportunities.
We also offer video instruction on filing and paying sales tax using Webfile. To view these videos, visit Video Tutorials.
In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer and Apple Safari.