The Texas Comptroller's office serves the state by collecting more than 60 separate taxes, fees and assessments, including local sales taxes collected on behalf of more than 1,400 cities, counties and other local governments around the state.
We are closely monitoring the impact of COVID-19 throughout the state. We have information for taxpayers on our agency’s COVID-19 response page. Read more.
Texas Comptroller Glenn Hegar has determined that we will delay implementation of the policy change on medical billing services until after the 2021 legislative session, allowing industry time to seek a legislative change. The policy remains that medical billing services that occurred before a claim was submitted are not taxable insurance services. Read more.
Purchasers must provide proof they paid use tax for their new off-highway vehicle (OHV), bought out of state for use in Texas, to title their OHV with their county tax assessor collector (CTAC). Read more.
Manufacturers of off-highway vehicles licensed by the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) must file an annual report listing warranty information from Texas customers that purchased new off-highway vehicles (OHVs) from retailers not located in Texas. Read more.
We have received numerous requests for a 60-day extension of the public comment period on proposed Rule 3.334. Comptroller Hegar is honoring these requests and grants an additional 60 days from Feb. 3, 2020, to provide written comments on proposed Rule 3.334. Written comments are due April 3, 2020, giving a full 90-day comment period.
In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer and Apple Safari.