The Texas Comptroller's office serves the state by collecting more than 60 separate taxes, fees and assessments, including local sales taxes collected on behalf of more than 1,400 cities, counties and other local governments around the state.

News and Announcements

Beginning March 1, 2020 – Off-Highway Vehicle Purchasers and Manufacturers

Purchasers must provide proof they paid use tax for their new off-highway vehicle (OHV), bought out of state for use in Texas, to title their OHV with their county tax assessor collector (CTAC). Read more.

Manufacturers of off-highway vehicles licensed by the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) must file an annual report listing warranty information from Texas customers that purchased new off-highway vehicles (OHVs) from retailers not located in Texas. Read more.

Notice of Extension of Public Comment Period on Proposed Rule 3.334, Local Sales and Use Tax

We have received numerous requests for a 60-day extension of the public comment period on proposed Rule 3.334. Comptroller Hegar is honoring these requests and grants an additional 60 days from Feb. 3, 2020, to provide written comments on proposed Rule 3.334. Written comments are due April 3, 2020, giving a full 90-day comment period.

Tax Responsibilities for Animal Rescue Groups v. Animal Shelters

Animal rescue groups and nonprofit animal shelters have different sales tax responsibilities. An animal rescue group is generally required to collect sales tax on any sales and animal adoption fees, while the Texas Tax Code specifically exempts nonprofit animal shelters from collecting sales tax on their animal adoption fees. Read more.

Out of State Sellers: Register Now!

Remote sellers are required to begin sales and use tax collections on Oct. 1, 2019. Read about the tax responsibilities for remote sellers and register for a sales and use tax permit.