The SPD Training and Policy Development provides the continuing education required for procurement professionals to maintain certification. You will be required to complete the State Certification Renewal excel file which must be submitted at least 30 days prior to your expiration date. State Certification Renewal (XLSX)
Certifications issued after January 1, 2018 will be issued for three (3) years for Certified Texas Contract Developers and Certified Texas Contract Managers.
Continuing education for procurement professionals renewing a three (3) year certification are required to take twenty-four (24) hours of SPD-sponsored in-person or online continuing education. One (1) of the twenty-four (24) hours must be ethics, to maintain certification. In addition, one (1) hour may be a non-SPD-sponsored elective of your choice.
If renewing under a dual certification, procurement professionals are required to take thirty-six (36) hours of SPD-sponsored in-person or online continuing education. One (1) of the thirty-six (36) hours must be ethics, to maintain certification. In addition, two (2) hours may be a non-SPD-sponsored elective of your choice.
Certified procurement professionals are also required to take the Renewal Refresher course offered by SPD once every three years in order to maintain certification. The Renewal Refresher course does not count towards continuing education hours. The Renewal Refresher course must be completed no earlier than two years following the date of initial certification or last renewal. Renewal Refresher courses completed prior to two years following the date of initial certification or last renewal will not be considered applicable to the Renewal Refresher requirement.
Certifications Issued Prior to January 2018: Procurement professionals certified prior to January 2018 renewing a five (5) year certification may renew under the previous requirement of 80-hours of continuing education provided the training meets the previous policy and time line for renewals. Procurement professionals renewing a five (5) year certification may also elect to renew under the current continuing education requirements stated above. Your expiration date remains the same with either option. Once a certification is renewed, all current rules and procedures apply.
If you allow your certification to expire, an extension may be requested within thirty (30) calendar days from the date of expiration. If the Division approves the extension, you have sixty (60) calendar days from the date of extension approval to complete the requirements for renewal. If you fail to meet the renewal requirements, your certification will not be renewed.
|Certification Renewal Fees||Required Number of Continuing Education Hours (CEH)||Renewal Fees||Notes|
|Certified Texas Contract Developer (CTCD)||24||$50.00||Previous CTPM holders will be issued the CTCD.|
|Certified Texas Contract Manager (CTCM)||24||$50.00||If you have multiple certifications; CTCD, formerly CTPM, and a CTCM certification; it's recommended you recertify under a DUAL certification.|
|Dual Certification CTCD/CTCM||36||$75.00||If you plan on renewing under a dual certification, any earned CEH of earliest date will apply toward the required 36 CEH. The earliest expiration date will prevail determining your recertification date. Each certificate will keep the original issued certification number and issued date, but will now have the same expiration date.|
In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer and Apple Safari.