Skip navigation
Glenn Hegar
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Glenn Hegar
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Glenn Hegar
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

programseSystems Help

x close

Civil FeesOriginal and Amended Returns

Original Return

Report the fees collected as appropriate for your city/county.

Issued/Filed

Use whole numbers and no commas. Enter a zero (0) in the space(s) if you have nothing to report.

Total Collected

Use dollars and cents in this field. Do not use commas. Enter 0.00 in the spaces if you have nothing to report.

Service fees will be calculated and visible on the Review Original Return screen.

Birth Certificate Fees

Report the number of certified copies of birth certificates issued and $1.80 of the additional $2 fee collected for each certified copy. (No service fee allowed.) (Local Govt. Code Sec. 118.015)

Marriage License Fees

Report the number of marriage licenses issued and $30 of each fee collected for a marriage license. $10 of each marriage license fee is deposited into the Family Trust Fund. (No service fee allowed.) (Local Govt. Code Sec. 118.011, 118.018, 118.022)

Declarations of Informal Marriage

Report the number of declarations of informal marriages issued and $12.50 of the $25 fee collected for each declaration. (No service fee allowed.) (Local Govt. Code Sec. 118.011, 118.019)

Nondisclosure Fees

Report all $28 fees collected on petitions for an order of nondisclosure. (No service fee allowed.) (Local Govt. Code Sec. 411.081(d)(h))

Juror Donations for Compensation to Victims of Crime Fund

Report jurors’ reimbursement fees that jurors have chosen to donate to the Compensation to Victims of Crime Fund. (No service fee allowed.) (Local Govt. Code Sec. 61.003)

Justice of the Peace Courts Filing Fees for Legal Services for Indigent

Report the number of civil actions or proceedings (in Justice Courts) requiring a filing fee and the total amount of $6 fees collected on the reported cases. (A 5 percent service fee is calculated on the amount reported in the Total Collected column.) (Local Govt. Code Sec. 133.153(a)(2))

Judicial Support Fee

Report the number of civil cases filed and the total amount of the additional $42 fees assessed and collected for support of the judiciary. Note: The fee for cases filed prior to Jan. 1, 2008 was $37. (No service fee allowed.) (Local Govt. Code Sec. 133.154, eff. Dec. 1, 2005)

Judicial and Court Personnel Training Fee

Use this line to report the number of civil actions or proceedings requiring a fee in district, county, statutory and justice courts and the $5 fee collected for each. (No service fee allowed.) (Local Govt. Code 51.971)

District Court Fees

Divorce and Family Law

Report the number of divorce and family law cases filed in district court and the additional $45 filing fee collected on the reported cases. (A service fee is calculated as the number Issued/Filed times 0.25 (5 percent of the $5 indigent fee included in the $45 total.) (Local Govt. Code Sec. 133.151, 133.152)

Other than Divorce/Family Law

Report the number of civil cases (other than divorce and family law cases) filed in district court and the additional $50 filing fee collected on the reported cases. (A service fee is calculated on the amount reported in the Issued/Filed column times 0.5 (5 percent of the $10 indigent fee included in the $50 total.)). (Local Govt. Code Sec. 133.151, 133.152)

Indigents Legal Services

Report the number of civil actions and proceedings. The amount reported in the first column, Issued/Filed, should at least equal or exceed the sum of the amounts reported in Divorce and Family Law cases and Other than Divorce/Family Law cases in the same column including appeals, counterclaims, cross-actions, interventions, interpleadings or third-party actions. (A 5 percent service fee is calculated on the amount reported in the Total Collected column.) (Local Govt. Code Sec. 133.152)

Statutory Probate Court

Filing Fee for Legal Services for Indigents

Report the number of civil actions or proceedings (in Statutory Probate Courts) requiring a filing fee and the total amount of $10 fees collected on the reported cases. (A 5 percent service fee is calculated on the amount reported in the Total Collected column.) (Local Govt. Code Sec. 133.153(a)(1))

Judicial Fund Filing Fees

Report the number of probate, guardianship, mental health or other civil cases filed in the Statutory Probate Court and the $40 filing fees collected on the reported cases. (No service fee allowed.) (Local Govt. Code Sec. 51.704)

Statutory County Court

Filing Fee for Legal Services for Indigents

Report the number of civil actions or proceedings (in Statutory County Courts) requiring a filing fee and the total amount of $10 fees collected on the reported cases. (A 5 percent service fee is calculated on the amount reported in the Total Collected column.) (Local Govt. Code Sec. 133.153(a)(1))

Judicial Fund Filing Fees

Report the number of civil cases filed in the Statutory County Court and the $40 filing fees collected on the reported cases. (No service fee allowed.) (Local Govt. Code Sec. 51.702)

Constitutional County Court

Filing Fee for Legal Services for Indigents

Report the number of civil actions or proceedings (in Constitutional County Courts) requiring a filing fee and the total amount of $10 fees collected on the reported cases. (A 5 percent service fee is calculated on the amount reported in the Total Collected column.) (Local Govt. Code Sec. 133.153(a)(1))

Judicial Fund Filing Fees (for participating counties only)

Report the number of civil cases filed in the Constitutional County Court and the $40 filing fees collected on the reported cases. (No service fee allowed.) (Local Govt. Code Sec. 51.703)

Amended Returns

In most cases, you can file an amended tax or fee return using Webfile. An amended return changes the data previously filed. Amended returns filed through Webfile will reflect the data originally filed with the Comptroller's Office. Change only the data that you need to amend.

Amended returns resulting in a credit balance or refund cannot be submitted through Webfile.

Amended Returns resulting in a refund must be submitted on the appropriate form with the word “Amended” written across the top. You must also include a detailed document stating the grounds on which the claim is founded.

The completed documents may be emailed to court.costs@cpa.texas.gov or faxed to 888-908-9997.

Need assistance?

If your question is not addressed here, contact us.

HB855 Browser Statement

In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer and Apple Safari.

We support: