If you are unable to file using Webfile, use our downloadable .PDF reports, designed to work with the free Adobe Reader. While other browsers and viewers may open these files, they may not function as intended unless you download and install the latest version of Adobe Reader.2018 Texas Franchise Tax Report Information and Instructions (PDF)
The law requires all No Tax Due Reports originally due after Jan. 1, 2016 to be filed electronically.
For the 2018 report year, a passive entity as defined in Texas Tax Code Section 171.0003; an entity that has total annualized revenue less than or equal to the no tax due threshold of $1,130,000; an entity that has zero Texas gross receipts; an entity that is a Real Estate Investment Trust (REIT) meeting the qualifications specified in Texas Tax Code Section 171.0002(c)(4); or an entity that is a pre-qualified new veteran-owned business as defined in Texas Tax Code Section 171.0005 can file a No Tax Due Report.
For the 2018 report year, an entity, including a combined group, can file using the EZ Computation if it has annualized total revenue of $20 million or less.
Any entity that does not elect to file using the EZ Computation, or that does not qualify to file a No Tax Due Report, should file the Long Form report.
An extension of time to file a franchise tax report will be tentatively granted upon receipt of a timely request on a form provided by the Comptroller. Timely means the request is received or postmarked on or before the due date of the original report.
Any taxable entity that owes any amount of franchise tax where the tax was not remitted electronically is required to submit the payment form with a check or money order made payable to the Texas Comptroller. Please put the reporting entity’s Texas taxpayer number and the report year on the check.
Franchise tax report forms should be mailed to the following address:
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
P.O. Box 149348
Austin, TX 78714-9348