Texas imposes a fee on the sale of new and used lead-acid batteries. The fee is $3 for each battery of 12 volts or more, or $2 if less than 12 volts.
A lead-acid battery is any battery that contains lead and sulfuric acid (see Health and Safety Code Section 361.138(a)(2)).
No fee is due on sales of lead-acid batteries that are:
No. The battery sales fee is not due on the sale of equipment that has a battery attached or as an integral part. The fee is due, however, on the sale of the battery prior to it becoming a part of the equipment.
No. The battery sales fee is not due on the sale of common household batteries, such as sizes AA, C and D, because they are not lead-acid batteries.
No. By state law and Comptroller rule, the seller must separately state the fee and identify it as the Texas battery sales fee. (See Health and Safety Code Section 361.138(c)(1) and Rule 3.711(b)(3).)
If the seller refunds the full purchase price, there is no sale, so the purchaser should receive a refund of the battery sales fee and sales tax.
The fee is only due when there is a sale of a battery. If there is no charge for the replacement battery, there is no sale of a battery and the fee is not due. Because there is no sale, the seller pays the battery sales fee and sales tax to its supplier.
If there is a charge for the replacement battery, the purchaser pays the battery sales fee and sales tax to the seller.
Send a completed Form AP-160, Texas Questionnaire for Battery Sales Fee (PDF), to the Comptroller's office:
Mail:Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
We do not issue battery sales fee permits.
Sellers who owe less than $50 in battery sales fees in a month, or less than $150 in a quarter, report and remit battery fees quarterly, on the 20th of the month following the end of the quarter. All other battery dealers report and remit the fee monthly, on the 20th of the following month. If the 20th falls on a weekend or holiday, the due date is the next business day. All reports must be postmarked on or before the due date. Use Webfile or Form 66-102, Texas Battery Sales Fee Report (PDF), to report and pay.
In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer and Apple Safari.