Glenn Hegar
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Glenn Hegar
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Skip navigation
Glenn Hegar
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Skip navigation
Top navigation skipped

Outreach: News and Events

Key Dates

  • May 15, 2023 – Last day to respond to map challenges.
  • June 13, 2023Broadband Development Office Board of Advisors meeting.
  • June 30, 2023 – Deadline for NTIA to announce BEAD allocations.
  • August 28, 2023 – Deadline for BDO to submit its Five-Year Action Plan to NTIA for BEAD funding.
  • December 1, 2023 – Deadline for BDO to submit its State Digital Opportunity Plan to NTIA for digital equity funding.

BOOT Applications were accepted from April 3 to May 5. Applications received will be posted soon. Please visit the BOOT Program page to review next steps.

The Texas Broadband Development Office (BDO) has developed the Digital Opportunity Public Survey to better understand barriers to broadband internet in unserved, underserved and underrepresented communities. We encourage you to complete the survey to help BDO identify what households are currently experiencing in terms of:

  • Broadband accessibility, affordability and adoption.
  • Access to affordable devices.
  • Skills training programs.
  • Publicly available digital resources.

BDO will use survey responses to develop spending plans for federal funding and ensure future policies and programs administered by the office are properly aligned with the needs of Texans. The survey is available online and in hard copy to ensure everyone in the state has a voice.

We also encourage you to add your contact information to help our team connect with you about programs and related public engagement events.

On Dec. 29, 2022, the Broadband Development Office (BDO) published the Broadband Development Map to identify eligible areas for funding. Following the map’s publication, broadband service providers and political subdivisions had 60 days to challenge the office to reclassify a designated area on the map as eligible or ineligible. BDO provided a challenge process guide on how to submit challenges and posted all accepted challenges.

On March 30, 2023, BDO provided a notice of the challenges to each broadband service provider that has indicated it provides broadband service to the designated area.

Affected political subdivisions and broadband providers have 45 days after receiving notice to provide information to BDO showing whether the designated area should or should not be reclassified.

BDO was awarded $5 million in Broadband, Equity, Access, and Deployment (BEAD) Initial Planning Funds from the NTIA. These funds will be used to develop the state’s Five-Year Action Plan, which must establish the state of Texas’ broadband goals and priorities and serve as a comprehensive needs assessment that will inform the Comptroller’s initial proposal for BEAD funding.

BDO was also awarded $3.1 million to develop the State Digital Opportunity Plan, which must identify barriers that prevent individuals and communities in Texas from having the information technology capacity needed for full participation in society and the economy. The Digital Equity Capacity Grant Program is a formula funding program to distribute $1.4 billion to states to implement plans and promote digital inclusion; additionally, the program funds an annual grant program for five years.

These plans will be posted here when they are available.

Need assistance?

If your question is not addressed here, Email us.

Sign up now to receive the latest Broadband Development Office news, updates and resources directly to your inbox.