taxes

Insurance Maintenance Tax for the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation/Office of Injured Employees Counsel (DWC/OIEC)

Who is responsible for this tax?

Insurers licensed by the Texas Department of Insurance and self-insurance groups that write workers' compensation insurance coverage must pay this tax.

Rates

Vary each year as adopted by the Texas Department of Insurance. Refer to 28 TAC, Rule §1.414 and our publication Insurance Maintenance Tax Rates and Assessments on 2016 Premiums.

Due Date

Yearly: March 1 for the previous calendar year for licensed insurers that write workers' compensation insurance (for example, March 1, 2015, for policies written in 2014).

Penalties and Interest

Penalties
  • If tax is paid 1-30 days after the due date, a 5 percent penalty is assessed.
  • If tax is paid over 30 days after the due date, a 10 percent penalty is assessed.
Interest

Reporting and Payment Requirements

Select the amount of taxes you paid in the preceding state fiscal year (Sept. 1 – Aug. 31) to find the reporting and payment methods to use.

Less than $100,000

Select one of these reporting methods:

Select one of these payment methods:

  • Web Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) or credit card via Webfile (American Express, Discover and MasterCard)
  • TEXNET
  • Check
$100,000 or more

Select one of these reporting methods:

TEXNET is the only acceptable payment method.

Additional Resources