Insurers must pay this tax if they are licensed by the Texas Department of Insurance and write any of the following types of coverages:
Under Insurance Code, Chapter 2007, the Commissioner of Insurance provides the Comptroller with the amount of the total assessment. Each insurer must pay its share of the total assessment based on a ratio of its gross direct premium written in Texas for certain lines of business to the total gross premium written in Texas by all insurers' in these same lines of business. The Texas Department of Insurance provides the Comptroller with the Texas gross direct premium written by each insurer for lines 1, 3, 4, 5.1, 21.1 and 21.2 on Statutory Page 14 of the insurer's annual statement.
As determined by the Commissioner of Insurance, the Comptroller’s office is required to assess the lesser of $30 million or the total amount that the General Appropriations Act appropriates from the volunteer fire department assistance fund account in the general revenue fund for that state fiscal year, other than appropriations for contributions to the Texas Emergency Services Retirement System. The total assessment for fiscal Sept. 1, 2017, through Aug. 31, 2018, is $23,051,548. For fiscal Sept. 1, 2018, through Aug. 31, 2019, the amount is $23,051,549. See Order No. 2018-5399 dated Feb. 9, 2018.
Yearly: August 1
The Comptroller's office will invoice insurers no later than May 31 of each year.
Select the amount of taxes you paid in the preceding state fiscal year (Sept. 1 – Aug. 31) to find the reporting and payment methods to use.
In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer and Apple Safari.