Standard presumptive value (SPV) is a value of a motor vehicle as determined by the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV), based on an appropriate regional guidebook of a nationally recognized motor vehicle value guide service. Values are based on the average sales price of private-party sales of used vehicles sold regionally. The condition of the vehicle is not used to determine the SPV.
SPV applies to motor vehicles purchased in private-party sales that do not involve a licensed motor vehicle dealer. This includes sales between family members, neighbors and others.
The SPV calculation does not apply to any of the following:
A used vehicle's SPV is available on the TxDMV website; however, the county tax assessor-collector calculates the taxable value on the day of titling and registration. Tax is calculated on the greater of the actual sales price or 80 percent of the SPV shown for that day.
For private-party sales, motor vehicle sales or use tax is based on one of the following:
For a purchaser who pays less than 80 percent of the vehicle's SPV, tax will be calculated on the appraised amount. However, the tax cannot be computed on an appraised value that is less than the purchase price. A certified appraisal can be obtained from one of the following:
Purchasers may obtain an appraisal even if they have already paid tax on the SPV. Purchasers who obtain a favorable appraisal within 30 calendar days of the purchase date or the date the vehicle is brought into Texas can seek a refund of the difference in the tax paid by
In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer and Apple Safari.