taxesProperty Tax Assistance

Approved Educational Courses

The educational courses listed below are required to fulfill certification requirements for property tax professional designations with the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). Courses may also be completed for continuing education (CE) with TDLR.

Other course providers seeking approval for educational course materials should refer to the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, Property Tax Assistance Division, Educational Course Approval Program Guidelines for instructions on submitting educational courses for approval.

Course providers are the owners of their course materials and should be contacted directly for ordering or questions about their materials.

Property Tax Education Coalition, Inc. (PTEC) Courses
ptecadmin@gmail.com
817-805-6198
2022 Renewal Date Course 2024 Renewal Date Course 2026 Renewal Date Course
Jan. 1
  • USPAP
  • Property Tax Law
Jan. 1
  • USPAP
  • Property Tax Law
Jan. 1
  • USPAP
  • Property Tax Law
March 1
  • Introduction to Property Tax Administration
  • Introduction to Property Tax Appraisal
  • Ethics
March 1
  • Introduction to Property Tax Administration
  • Introduction to Property Tax Appraisal
  • Ethics
March 1
  • Introduction to Property Tax Administration
  • Introduction to Property Tax Appraisal
  • Ethics
July 1
  • Real Property
  • Cost Approach
  • Sales Approach
July 1
  • Appraisal Analysis
  • Mass Appraisal
July 1
  • Truth-in-Taxation
  • Assessment and Collection
Oct. 1
  • Business Personal Property
Oct. 1
  • Income Approach
Oct. 1
  • Advanced Assessment and Collection
Additionally, the following chart indicates IAAO courses that meet certification requirements for the Registered Professional Appraiser (RPA) designation.
RPA License Requirement IAAO Course Allowance
94.21(8)(A)(iii)(II)(a)
no less than 18 hours in the income approach to value
Course 102
Income Approach to Valuation
94.21(8)(A)(iii)(II)(d)
      no less than 24 hours in the theory and practice of appraisal of real property
Course 101
Fundamentals of Real Property Appraisal
94.21(8)(A)(iv)(II)(c)
no less than 18 hours in mass appraisal
Course 300
Fundamentals of Mass Appraisal