You can find out if you qualify and how to apply for the exemption under Tax Code Section 11.131 in the 100 Percent Disabled Veterans FAQ.
You may file for any homestead exemption up to two years after the delinquency date. The delinquency date is normally Feb. 1. If you are age 65 or older or disabled, you qualify for the exemption on the date you become age 65 or become disabled. To receive the exemption for that year, age 65 or older or disabled homeowners must apply for the exemption no later than one year from the date you qualify or two years after the delinquency date, whichever is later. If you miss the deadline you may apply for the following year.
No. To receive a disabled veteran exemption, you must either be a veteran who was disabled while serving with the U.S. armed forces or the surviving spouse or child (under age 18 and unmarried) of a disabled veteran or of a member of the armed forces who was killed while on active duty. You must be a veteran of the U.S. armed forces who is classified as disabled by the Veteran's Administration or the armed services branch in which you served and have a service-connected disability. The disabled veteran must be a Texas resident and must choose one property to receive the exemption.
The exemption amount that a qualified disabled veteran receives depends on the veteran's disability rating from the branch of the armed service.
|Disability Rating||Exemption Amount Up To|
|10% to 29%||$5,000 from the property's value|
|30% to 49%||$7,500 from the property's value|
|50% to 69%||$10,000 from the property's value|
|70% to 100%||$12,000 from the property's value|
A disabled veteran may also qualify for an exemption of $12,000 of the assessed value of the property if the veteran is age 65 or older with a disability rating of at least 10 percent; totally blind in one or both eyes; or has lost use of one or more limbs.
Yes. The deadline for filing for a disabled veteran's exemption is between January 1 and April 30 of the tax year. However, you may file for a disabled veteran's exemption up to one year from the delinquency date. To file for a disabled veteran's exemption, you must complete the Application for Disabled Veteran's or Survivor's Exemptions (PDF) form and submit it to the appraisal district in which the property is located.
A disabled veteran is allowed an exemption equal to his or her disability rating (if rating less than 100 percent) on residence homestead donated by charitable organization. The same percentage exemption extends to the surviving spouse, if the surviving spouse has not remarried, the property was the surviving spouse's homestead when the disabled veteran died and remains his or her residence homestead.
A surviving spouse of a member of the U.S. armed services killed in action is allowed a total property tax exemption on his or her residence homestead of if the surviving spouse has not remarried since the death of the armed services member.
No, these forms of identification are not satisfactory proof of disability rating for property tax exemptions purposes.
In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer and Apple Safari.