Interest starts accruing on the 61st day after the due date.
A successful EDI return with payment must be received by 2:30 p.m. (CT) the bank business day before the due date so the funds are in our office by due date. EDI payments comply with electronic payment requirements.
Due to payment processing deadlines, TEXNET debit payments above $100,000 must be submitted before 8 p.m. (CT) the bank business day before the due date. For payments of $100,000 or less, a payor has until 10:00 a.m. (CT) on the due date to initiate the transaction in the TEXNET System. TEXNET ACH credit and wire transfer payments must be deposited in our bank account by the due date to be considered timely. Read more about electronic payment information and see the schedule of due dates in our TEXNET Electronic Payment Instructions Booklet (PDF).
If you did not meet the payment criteria for the extension after filing your return, a penalty is due on the late portion of your payment. Generally, for an extension to be valid, 100 percent of the tax paid in the prior year, or 90 percent of the tax that will be due with the current year’s report, must be paid on or before the original due date of the report. Entities required to file a combined report must follow special extension rules. Please read extension information for franchise tax.
Our response will advise that you have 10 days to request an administrative appeal of the denial of all or part of your original request. To appeal, you must:
Our response will tell you how to request a hearing.
No, but please include the information listed on our forms to allow us to review your request without delays.
In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer and Apple Safari.