Skip navigation
Glenn Hegar
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Glenn Hegar
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Glenn Hegar
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

programseSystems Help

x close

County Criminal Costs and Fees Original and Amended Returns

Original Returns

This report must be filed by the due date even if no payment is due. An amount in dollars and cents or a zero (0.00) must be entered on all lines.

Jan. 1, 2004 forward; Sep. 1, 2001 to Dec. 31, 2003; Aug. 31, 1999 to Aug. 31, 2001; Sep. 1, 1997 to Aug. 30, 1999; Sept. 1, 1991 to Aug. 31, 1997

Report in a lump sum the total court costs collected, based on the date of the offense. Collections will be distributed based on historical data of court costs in effect during each period.

Peace Officer Fees, FTA, MVF and Time Payment Fees should be reported where indicated.

Bail Bond Fee (BB)

A $15 fee is assessed on each surety posting a bail bond for an offense other than a misdemeanor punishable by fine only under Chapter 17, Code of Criminal Procedure. The fee should not exceed $30 for all bail bonds posted at one time by a surety company for an individual (Government Code, Section 41.258).

DNA Testing Fee Felony Convictions (DNA)

For offenses committed on or after Sept. 1, 2001 only, $250 is due on the conviction of a felony offense listed in the Government Code, Section 411.1471(a)(1).

DNA Testing Fee - MSDM & CS (DNA CS)

For offenses committed on or after Sept. 1, 2001 only, $50 on the conviction of a misdemeanor offense listed in Section 411.1471(a)(3) (formerly reported in Item 7). For offenses committed on or after Jan. 1, 2010 only, $34 is due on placement of a person on community supervision, if the person is required to submit a DNA sample under Section 11(j), Article 42.12.

DNA Testing Fee (DNA JV)

For offenses committed on or after Jan. 1, 2010 only. $50 or $34 is due for a child adjudicated of a felony requiring a DNA sample under Family Code, Section 54.0409 or other law.

EMS Trauma Fund (EMS)

A $100 fee is assessed on offenses in Chapter 49, Penal Code, except Section 49.02 and 49.031, for offenses committed on or after Jan. 1, 2004.

Juvenile Probation Diversion Fee (JPD)

A $20 fee per disposition hearing held. Collected only if ordered by the court and the child, parent or other person responsible for the child's support is financially able to pay it. (Tex. Family Code Ann., Section 54.0411)

Jury Reimbursement Fee (JRF)

A $4 court cost assessed on convictions of all offenses except pedestrian or parking of a motor vehicle (Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 102.0045, effective Sept. 1, 2005).

Indigent Defense Fund (IDF)

A $2 court cost assessed on convictions of all offenses except pedestrian or parking of a motor vehicle (Local Government Code 133.107, effective Jan. 1, 2008).

Moving Violation Fees (MVF)

For offenses committed on or after Jan. 1, 2010 only. A $0.10 court cost is assessed on conviction of moving violations (Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 102.022).

State Traffic Fine (STF)

A $30 court cost shall be assessed on the conviction of any offense under Transportation Code Title 7, Subtitle C "Rules of the Road" (Transportation Code, Section 542.4031). Note: State parking and pedestrian violations are included. Only a five (5) percent service fee is allowed on this fund.

Peace Officer Fees

Report 20 percent from actions by state officers only (Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 102.011).

Failure to Appear/Pay Fee (FTA)

A $30 administrative fee shall be assessed on a failure to appear or satisfy a judgment for certain violations (Transportation Code, Section 706.002) only if a county has contracted with the Department of Public Safety. Two-thirds ($20) is sent to the state. One-third ($10) is retained locally.

Judicial Fund - Constitutional County Court

A $15 court cost shall be collected on each conviction of any criminal offense if the court is participating in the supplemental salary program (Government Code, Sections 26.006, 51.703).

Judicial Fund - Statutory County Court

A $15 court cost shall be collected on each conviction of any criminal offense in statutory county court (Government Code, Section 51.702).

Motor Carrier Weight Violations (MCW)

Remit 50 percent of the fines collected on violations of Transportation Code, Section 621.506. Only the fines for Over Allowed Gross Weight single axle, tandem axle or gross weight and Over Allowed Gross Weight-Zoned violations should be reported. For offenses committed on or after Sept. 1, 1999, which occurred within 20 miles of an international border, the entire fine shall be deposited in the municipal or county treasury for the purpose of road maintenance.

Time Payment Fees (TP)

Report 50 percent of any portion of the $25 fee collected from a person who pays any part of a fine, court cost or restitution on or after the 31st day after the date on which a judgment is entered assessing the fine, court cost or restitution (Local Government Code, Section 133.103).

Driving Records Fee (DRF)

Remit fee assessed by the judge when he orders a driving record from DPS for deferred disposition cases (Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 45.0511, c-1).

Judicial Support Fee (JS)

A $6 court cost assessed on convictions of all offenses except pedestrian or parking of a motor vehicle. Local jurisdiction retains $0.60 of each fee and remits $5.40 to the state (Local Government Code, Section 133.105). Note: For offenses Dec. 1, 2005 through Dec. 31, 2007, only $4 assessed on convictions.

Truancy Prevention and Diversion Fund (TPD)

A $2 court cost assessed on convictions of all offenses except pedestrian or parking of a motor vehicle. Local jurisdiction may retain 50% of funds collected for purpose of operating or establishing a juvenile case manager program. (Code of Criminal Procedure Art. 102.015)

Amended Returns

In most cases, you can file an amended tax or fee return using Webfile. An amended return changes the data previously filed. Amended returns filed through Webfile will reflect the data originally filed with the Comptroller's Office. Change only the data that you need to amend.

Amended returns resulting in a credit balance or refund cannot be submitted through Webfile.

Amended Returns resulting in a refund must be submitted on the appropriate form with the word “Amended” written across the top. You must also include a detailed document stating the grounds on which the claim is founded.

The refund request may be emailed to court.costs@cpa.texas.gov or faxed to 888-908-9997.

Need assistance?

If your question is not addressed here, contact us.

HB855 Browser Statement

In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer and Apple Safari.

We support: