On May 19, 2021, Governor Abbott issued a disaster declaration for Calhoun, Jasper, Jefferson, Kleberg, Newton and Tyler counties due to significant flooding and severe weather. Taxpayers affected by the severe weather and flooding have an automatic extension to June 1, 2021, to file and pay taxes due. For more information see the Comptroller's news release.
In response to the February 2021 statewide severe winter weather, the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts is extending the due date for 2021 Texas franchise tax reports from May 15 to June 15, 2021. The extension aligns the agency with the Internal Revenue Service, which earlier this week extended the April 15 tax-filing and payment deadline to June 15 for all Texas residents and businesses.
The due date extension applies to all franchise taxpayers. It is automatic, and taxpayers do not need to file any additional forms. Learn more Franchise Tax Extension.
The Comptroller’s office will waive the bond requirement for distributors and importers for licenses issued to respond to the declared natural disaster regarding the recent severe weather to provide fuel in Texas, until Feb. 28, 2021.
Effective Feb. 12 through Feb. 26, 2021, the state restrictions on the use of dyed diesel fuel for vehicles on Texas roadways are lifted, and requirements to pay the state motor fuel tax on dyed diesel are suspended. Although federal tax is still due, we have secured a temporary waiver of penalties from the Internal Revenue Service. Read more about the waiver.
In response to Governor Abbott’s disaster declaration regarding Tropical Storm Beta, taxpayers in the following counties affected by widespread flooding, storm surge and damaging winds are eligible for an automatic penalty waiver for state taxes due Sept. 21, if the taxes are paid within 30 days of the original due date; and an automatic 30-day extension of time to file and pay any state taxes that will be due on Sept. 25 and Sept. 30: Aransas, Bee, Bexar, Brazoria, Calhoun, Chambers, Fort Bend, Galveston, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jim Wells, Kenedy, Kleberg, Liberty, Live Oak, Matagorda, Nueces, Orange, Refugio, Sabine, San Augustine, San Patricio, Shelby, Travis, Victoria and Wharton.
Taxpayers are not required to request a penalty waiver or an extension of time to file and pay taxes that have been automatically waived or extended.
If you need further assistance, please contact our office at 800-252-5555.
In response to Governor Abbott’s disaster declarations regarding Hurricane Hanna and Hurricane Laura, taxpayers in the declared counties that are affected by severe weather and flooding may be eligible (by request only) for an extension of time to file and pay taxes due.
Taxpayers affected by the severe weather may be eligible for an extension of time to file and pay taxes due. Extensions are available upon request only and will be granted by the Comptroller’s office in 30-day increments. If you are unable to file and pay within 30 days, you may request additional extensions (up to 90 days total).
Please provide the following information to ExtensionRequests@cpa.texas.gov to request an extension to file and pay your taxes:
Please contact our office at 800-252-5555 if you need assistance.
In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer and Apple Safari.