Order cigarette stamps.
The distributor must affix a stamp to each package within 96 hours of receipt. The stamp serves as evidence that state tax has been paid.
Note: The Comptroller will not process cigarette stamp orders on half-day or full-day holidays.
View all current outstanding invoices on stamp orders.
Stamps will not be issued if there are any invoices over 30 days unpaid.
A cigarette distributor must submit a written request for credit of taxes previously paid on cigarettes deemed unusable and returned to the manufacturer because the products became “stale” or unfit for sale. This request must be submitted on company letterhead.
The distributor must submit a notarized credit memo and supporting affidavit – issued by the manufacturer – verifying the type and amount of the products returned.
You can file an original report with Webfile. An original return is the first return filed per period with the Comptroller's Office.
Amended returns must be submitted on a paper form. Instructions for requesting a refund are available at Cigarette and Cigar/Tobacco Taxes Refunds.
Mail amended returns with a credit balance to:
Mail amended returns with a credit balance to:Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Payments can be submitted using the Webfile system for the current report period without filing a report. You can also submit a payment for a period with an open liability.
Transaction History reflects a history of electronic reports and payments transmitted via the Webfile system.
If your question is not addressed here, contact us.
In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer and Apple Safari.