The seller collects a 9-1-1 Prepaid Wireless Emergency Service Fee from the consumer at the time of each retail transaction of prepaid wireless telecommunications for use in Texas, which is remitted to the Comptroller.
"Prepaid wireless telecommunications service" means a mobile telecommunication service that is paid for in advance and allows a person to access 9-1-1 emergency communication services.
Service providers must register to collect and remit this fee by applying for a sales tax permit. Any person who sells prepaid wireless telecommunications services, or who uses their own prepaid wireless telecommunications services, must file Form 54-104, Texas Prepaid Wireless 9-1-1 Emergency Services Fee Report (PDF).
2 percent of the purchase price of each prepaid wireless telecommunications service purchased in person, by telephone, over the internet or by any other method.
Quarterly – 30th day following the end of the quarter in which the fee or surcharge was collected (for example, April 30 for 1st quarter collections). Reports must be filed even if no fee is due.
2 percent of total collected fees.
Select the amount of taxes you paid in the preceding state fiscal year (Sept. 1 – Aug. 31) to find the reporting and payment methods to use.
In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer and Apple Safari.