Transfer of titles and tax collection is done through the local county tax assessor-collector's office.
The rate is 6.25 percent and is calculated on the purchase price of the vehicle. The taxable value of private-party purchases of used motor vehicles may be based on the standard presumptive value.
Yes. The value of a motor vehicle a seller receives as consideration for the purchase of another motor vehicle reduces the taxable value of the purchase.
Yes, if the vehicle being purchased is designed to carry more than six passengers and is used primarily (at least 80 percent of the time) to provide transportation to and from church or religious services or meetings. A vehicle registered as a passenger vehicle used primarily for the personal or official needs or duties of a minister is not exempt.
No, standard pickup trucks or other motor vehicles operated on a farm or ranch do not qualify for exemption from Texas motor vehicle tax, even though they may display farm plates. Texas law does not provide a blanket agricultural exemption from motor vehicle tax.
However, certain vehicles modified to distribute feed or fertilizer may qualify for exemption as a "farm machine." Motor vehicle tax law defines a farm machine as "a self-propelled motor vehicle specially adapted for use in the production of crops or rearing of livestock, including poultry, and use in feedlots and includes a self-propelled motor vehicle specially adapted for applying plant food materials, agricultural chemicals, or feed for livestock. Farm machine does not include any self-propelled motor vehicle specifically designed or specially adapted for the sole purpose of transporting agricultural products, plant food materials, agricultural chemicals, or feed for livestock." Farm machines, trailers and semi-trailers that are used primarily (at least 80 percent of the operating time) for farming and ranching, including the raising of poultry and operation of feedlots, are exempt from motor vehicle tax.
A person claiming an exemption from motor vehicle sales tax on the purchase of qualifying vehicles must provide an ag/timber number on Form 130-U, Application for Texas Title (PDF), when buying or registering qualifying farm machines, trailers and semi-trailers.
Trailers and semi-trailers are exempt from Texas motor vehicle tax when they are used primarily on a farm or ranch in the production of food for human consumption, grass, feed for any form of animal life, or other livestock or agricultural products to be sold. A farm trailer that a farmer or rancher primarily uses to process, pack or market the farmer's own livestock or agricultural products also qualifies for exemption.
A trailer that is not used primarily in an exempt manner is taxable. For example, a horse trailer with sleeping quarters for humans is not exempt, nor is any trailer used for transporting horses to and from competitions or shows.
A person claiming an exemption from motor vehicle sales tax on the purchase of qualifying vehicles must provide a Comptroller-issued ag/timber number on the documentation issued by the purchaser to substantiate the claim for exemption. The exemption is claimed on Form 130-U, Application for Texas Title (PDF), when purchasing or registering qualifying farm machines, trailers and semi-trailers.
No. United States and most foreign military personnel are subject to the motor vehicle sales and use tax. However, foreign military personnel, their dependents and military-employed civilians attached to NATO are exempt from the sales and use tax on motor vehicles.
The only transactions that qualify to be taxed as gifts ($10) are those where the vehicles are received from a:
A vehicle also qualifies to be taxed as a gift when it is donated to, or given by, a nonprofit service organization qualifying under the Internal Revenue Code, Section 501(c)(3). All other motor vehicle transfers made without payment are defined as sales and are subject to tax calculated on the standard presumptive value of the vehicle.
Both the vehicle donor and recipient must complete Form 14-317, Affidavit of Motor Vehicle Gift Transfer (PDF), which describes the transaction and the relationship between the parties. The affidavit must be notarized by a public notary of Texas or another state, or witnessed by an authorized employee of a Texas county tax assessor-collector's office. The affidavit must be provided to the county tax assessor-collector along with Form 130-U, Application for Texas Title (PDF), when the vehicle is registered in the new owner's name.
A motor vehicle purchased in Texas to be leased is subject to motor vehicle sales tax. The lessor is responsible for the tax, and it is paid when the vehicle is registered at the local county tax assessor-collector's office. The lease contract is not subject to tax.
When a vehicle is leased in another state and the lessee brings it to Texas for public highway use, the lessee (as the operator) owes motor vehicle use tax based on the price the lessor paid for the vehicle. The standard tax rate is 6.25 percent. Credit will be given for any tax the lessor or the lessee paid to another state.
A surcharge applies to both new and used diesel-powered, on-road motor vehicles with a gross vehicle registered weight exceeding 14,000 pounds purchased inside or outside Texas. The surcharge also applies to a vehicle that is brought into Texas by a new resident. The rate is 1 percent for model years 1997 and later, and 2.5 percent for model years 1996 and earlier. The surcharge is paid to the county tax assessor-collector and administered in the same manner as the motor vehicle sales tax.
A dealer selling a motor vehicle may not collect motor vehicle sales tax when a purchaser claims an exemption for an orthopedically handicapped person. To qualify for the exemption, the purchaser must complete Form 14-318, Texas Motor Vehicle Orthopedically Handicapped Exemption (PDF), and provide any applicable supporting documentation at the time of the sale. The selling dealer must retain the exemption form.
You must provide a Comptroller-issued ag/timber number to the county tax assessor-collector for the initial issuance of farm plates, for farm plate renewals and when obtaining a temporary excess weight permit. The ag/timber number presented must be issued in the name of the person or DBA in which the vehicle is, or will be, registered.
Persons engaged in the production of agricultural or timber products for sale in the regular course of business can apply for an ag/timber number on our website. Qualified applicants who apply online will receive a registration number immediately.
In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer and Apple Safari.