Community Reinvestment Act Work Group Report

The Community Reinvestment Work Group was created by the created by the Texas Legislature in 1997 to collaborate with the financial industry to develop statewide community reinvestment strategies. This Work Group is authorized by Finance Code, Chapter 395. The Work Group as authorized by this statute is comprised of the following agencies: Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts (CPA), Texas Department of Banking (DOB), Governor’s Office Economic Development and Tourism (EDT), Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA), and Texas Department of Insurance (TDI). Other entities have been consulted and a part of the feedback process in assisting this Work Group develop its community reinvestment goals and strategies such as: the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas, Texas Department of Agriculture, and the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC).