Ten awards of $5,000 each are made annually to professors for superior teaching at the college level. Selection is made on the basis of nominations submitted by each college or university in the State of Texas.

Begun in 1958, with eight awards, the roster of Piper Professors includes outstanding professors from two and four-year colleges and universities, public and private.

Participation & Eligibility:

Participation is by invitation only. To be eligible, candidates must be nominated through college/university President's Office. Guidelines regarding the number of nominations an institution may make, as well as eligibility based on full-time equivalent student body enrollment are outlined in the letter of invitation sent to the President. Candidates who have been nominated by their college or university, may obtain the Piper Professor Award form from the download instructions page.

Copyright © 2024 - 2025 by Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation. All Rights Reserved.