Companies that rent motor vehicles, including automobiles, motor homes, motorcycles, trucks, truck tractors, trailers, semi-trailers, travel trailers and park models, must collect motor vehicle gross rental receipts tax from their customers. The percentage of tax charged is based on the length of the rental contract.
Due dates are based on the gross rental receipts a motor vehicle rental company collects per quarter:
Returns must be filed or postmarked on or before the 20th day of the month following the end of each reporting period (for example, April 20 for March activity).
Select the amount of taxes you paid in the preceding state fiscal year (Sept. 1 – Aug. 31) to find the reporting and payment methods to use.
0.5 percent for timely filing and paying plus 1.25 percent for prepaying.
In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer and Apple Safari.